AUSTIN – TRAVIS COUNTY EMS ADVISORY BOARD MEETING MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 7, 2018



The Austin – Travis County EMS Advisory Board convened on November 7, 2018, 15 Waller Street, in Austin, Texas at 9:30 a.m.

Board Members in Attendance: Tracy Dalbosco, Chris Ziebell, Lisa Harris, Justin Otwell, John Villanacci, Jerry Staton, Janice Bray, Robert Ugaste

Board Members Absent: None

Other Attendees: Jasper Brown, Keith Simpson, Tom Vocke, Jason Pickett, Chuck Brotherton, Robert Abbott, Brett Steffen, Jeff Hayes, James Kempema

1. CALL TO ORDER - November 7, 2018

The meeting was called to order at 9:33 a.m. by Chair Dalbosco

2. QUORUM DETERMINATION

A quorum was met and the meeting proceeded.

3. WELCOME NEW BOARD MEMBERS: JANICE BRAY AND ROBERT UGASTE

4. REVIEW AND APPROVE MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

<u>Motion</u>: The minutes for the regular meeting of August 27, 2018 were approved on a motion by Board Member Otwell and seconded by Board Member Villanacci on a 6-0 vote; with two new Board Members Bray and Ugaste abstaining.

5. RECEIVE CITIZEN COMMUNICATIONS/COMMENT

• None

6. OFFICER ELECTIONS

Chair Dalbosco opened the conversation to discuss officer elections for this Board. Board Members discussed options and what is involved in being the Chair and then a motion was made.

<u>Motion</u>: Board Member Otwell motioned for Tracy Dalbosco to be re-elected as Chair and Dr. Christopher Ziebell to serve another term as Vice-Chair; seconded by Board Member Lisa Harris; approved on an 8-0 vote.

7. REVIEW AND ADOPT 2019 BOARD MEETING SCHEDULE

The Board and staff reviewed and discussed options for 2019 meeting dates and considered timing to allow for budget review and input.

<u>Motion:</u> Board Member Staton motioned to approve the schedule of first Wednesday of each quarter and seconded by Board Member Ugaste on an 8/0 vote.

8. REVIEW OF SYSTEM REPORTS

Board Members discussed how to better understand reports and look at how to benefit from the data. Chief of Staff Brown will be highlighting a few of the reports at meetings in 2019.

9. RECEIVE UPDATES FROM SYSTEM AGENCIES REPRESENTATIVES:

a) Medical Director's Report: Mark Escott, Medical Director, Office of the Medial Director (OMD)

• Jeff Hayes shared that the OMD is creating up a committee that will look at system clinical initiatives, financial and operational. Participants will include staff from three ESDs, executive staff from EMS, AFD and physicians from Travis County.

b) Austin EMS Department: Jasper Brown, Chief of Staff

- ePCR ESO was the chosen vendor. He reviewed timeline for training and testing. Go live is slated for February 4th, 2019. ESDs already have ESO and AFD will be in the next phase. ESO offers data exchange and will be a very useful tool for everyone in the system that provides patient care.
- Additional Community Health Paramedics; one additional Clinical Specialist for HOST.
- Five new Fire & EMS Stations within the next five years; one per year beginning next fiscal year.

c) Travis County Emergency Services: Charles Brotherton, Travis County Executive

• Mr. Brotherton is the new Executive with Travis County. He shared information about himself and the work he is doing for the county to include FRO agreements, Medical Direction, ESDs, Parks Police, ILA with City Agreement FY19 and FY20; ILAs with ESDs and include medical direction.

d) Austin Fire Department: Tom Vocke, Fire Battalion Chief

- Joel Baker was selected last week as the new Chief for AFD. His first day will be on December 10th.
- Tom Dodds, AFD Chief of Staff will retire in January 2019.
- AED's have been purchased and will be distributed by the 1st of the year.
- ESO will be implemented in the new year.

e) Emergency Services Districts: Robert Abbott, CAFCA President

- The new medical direction is working well for them.
- Stations: Currently have thirty-three county stations with four new ones on the way. Current station costs up to 5.2M in county.

10. OTHER BUSINESS

• Board Member Otwell is planning to renew his term on this Advisory Board.

11. ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 11:20 a.m.

The minutes were approved on this the 6^{th} day of February 2019 on a unanimous vote.