

City of Austin Design Commission

RECOMMENDATION 20190923-02A

Date: September 24, 2019

Subject: Design Commission recommendation for The Travis project, located at 80 Red River Street, to determine substantial compliance with the Urban Design Guidelines. Motioned By: Aan Coleman Seconded By: Evan Taniguchi Amendment 01: Katie Halloran Amendment 02: Beau Frail Amendment 03: Samuel Franco Recommendation: The Austin Design Commission recommends that the 80 Red River Street project, as presented on September 23, 2019, is in substantial compliance with the Urban Design Guidelines, with amendments. Rationale: Dear Director of Planning and Zoning, This letter is to confirm the Design Commission's recommendation that the 80 Red River Street project, as presented to the body on September 23, 2019 substantially complies with the Urban Design Guidelines as one of the gatekeeper requirements of the Downtown Density Bonus Program. The recommendation included three friendly amendments: 1. Recommend that the applicant coordinates with Cap Metro on future transit connecting to Red River Street adjacent to the property. 2. Recommend that the applicant evaluate adding more public restrooms to serve the Café, the Art Space, the Dog Park, and the Food Truck dining area. Currently only one restroom is provided. 3. Recommend that the applicant evaluate the possibility of making the dog park open to the public. It could

Recommend that the applicant evaluate the possibility of making the dog park open to the public. It could compliment the food truck dining area.

Respectfully,

City of Austin Design Commission

Vote: 11 - 0 - 0

For: David Carroll, Aan Coleman, Katie Halloran, Evan Taniguchi, Ben Lukens, Beau Frail, Martha Gonzales, Samuel Franco, Melissa Henao-Robledo, Bart Whatley, Josue Meiners

Against: n/a Abstain: n/a Absent: n/a Recused: n/a

Attest: David Carroll, Chair of the Design Commission

Waind Carroll

David Carroll, Chair

Martha Gonzales, Vice Chair

Aan Coleman

Beau Frail

Samuel Franco

Katie Halloran

Melissa Henao-Robledo

Ben Luckens

Josue Meiners

Evan Taniguchi

Bart Whatley

Jorge Rousselin, Executive Liaison

Nichole Koerth, Staff Liaison

Aaron D. Jenkins Staff Liaison

