Save Historic Muny District – Appointing Committee [Meeting Minutes]

| Meeting Date: | September 24, 2019 |
|---------------|--|
| Location: | LCRA Board Conference Room Hancock Building |
| Meeting Time: | 7:30 a.m. – 8:30 a.m. |

Attendees:

- ✓ Steve Adler, Mayor, City of Austin*
- ✓ Carter Smith, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department*(*via conf. call*)
- ✓ Evan Thompson, Preservation Texas*(via conf. call)
- ✓ Laura Huffman, The Nature Conservancy* (via conf. call)
- ✓ Mark Wolfe, Texas Historical Commission*(via conf. call)
- ✓ Rod Welsh, Texas State Preservation Board*
- ✓ Bob Ozer, Save Muny
- ✓ Mary Arnold, Save Muny (applicant)
- ✓ Holly Reed, West Austin Neighborhood Group (applicant)
- ✓ Ken Tiemann (applicant)
- ✓ Scott Sayers (applicant)
- ✓ Kurt Cadena-Mitchell, for Council Member Alison Alter, District 10 (via conf. call)

* denotes Appointing Committee Members

Minutes:

- **1. Welcome:** Attendees (both in person and participating via conference call) introduced themselves.
- 2. Call to Order: Laura Huffman called the meeting to order at approximately 7:35 a.m.
- 3. Item 1 (Citizen Communications):
 - <u>Bob Ozer (Save Muny)</u>: Mr. Ozer referenced an email he sent to the Appointing Committee on September 21, 2019, transmitting a letter of recommendation from Ben Crenshaw for the following applicants: Mary Arnold, Volma Overton III, Holly Reed, Scott Sayers, and Ken Tiemann. Mr. Ozer highlighted Ms. Arnold's 46 years of work to preserve Muny. He noted Ms. Reed's work as president of the West Austin Neighborhood Group. He spoke about Mr. Overton's family connections to Muny through three generations – including his grandfather's involvement in the desegregation of Muny. Finally, Mr. Ozer discussed Mr. Tiemann's grandfather, and his grandfather's work to desegregate the fire station on Lydia Street in east Austin. Mr. Ozer concluded by saying that he felt that this slate was diverse, and that was important to him.

Mr. Ozer expressed his opinion that involvement in the newly-formed Muny Conservancy would not create a conflict for those on the Muny Conservancy Board (Holly Reed, Ken Tiemann, Scott Sayers). However, Holly Reed and Ken Tiemann said that they would resign from their positions in the Muny Conservancy if they were selected to serve on the Save Historic Muny District Board. Mr. Sayers said he would not resign his position in the Muny Conservancy, but would recuse himself from decisions that created a potential conflict of interest.

Mr. Ozer also stated that although the slate noted in the Crenshaw letter was good, he would also consider Brian Greig – he has ties with Muny and the Lions Club Golf Committee. Finally, Mr. Ozer noted that an attorney who lives in the district but did not apply for a position offered to provide pro bono services to the new Save Historic Muny District Board.

Chair Huffman asked for clarification from Ms. Reed regarding her application and her email regarding her membership with the Muny Conservancy. Ms. Reed said that she would step down from the Muny Conservancy Board if she was selected for the Save Historic Muny District Board.

Ken Tiemann had no comments to add.

Scott Sayers said that the Muny Conservancy has met, and that Holly and Ken told him that they would resign from their positions on the Muny Conservancy Board if they were selected to serve on the Save Historic Muny District Board. He also said that Brian Greig was a highly qualified applicant.

Chair Huffman thanked all applicants and citizens for their comments and participation.

4. Item 2 (Review and approve minutes from previous meeting):

• Mayor Adler moved to approve the meeting minutes from August 26, 2019. Carter Smith seconded. Appointing Committee members unanimously approved.

5. Item 3 (Nominations):

Evan Thompson nominated Volma Overton, III and Ken Tiemann. Mayor Adler nominated Scott Sayers and Mary Arnold. Carter Smith nominated Brian Greig, Scott Baker, and Holly Reed. Mark Wolfe nominated Andrea McWilliams.

Chair Huffman asked for confirmation that eight applicants had been nominated. Mayor Adler proposed that the eight be narrowed to the five following applicants: Scott Sayers, Mary Arnold, Volma Overton, III, Brian Greig, and Andrea McWilliams. Chair Huffman opened the floor to discussion of the five nominees.

6. Item 4 (Discussion):

Evan Thompson noted that he had an issue with the business relationship between Scott Sayers and Ben Crenshaw, but approved of the other nominees, and proposed replacing Scott Sayers with Ken Tiemann. Mark Wolfe agreed. Carter Smith listed the revised slate: Ken Tiemann, Mary Arnold, Volma Overton, III, Brian Greig, and Andrea McWilliams. Chair Huffman re-stated the slate for further discussion.

Carter Smith said that the quality of applications in general was terrific. He said Scott Baker stood out to him as well. Carter also pointed out that the applicants had experience serving on boards, had political acumen, were involved with community organizations and were also involved in neighborhood groups. Carter noted that having a diverse group of people serve on the Save Historic Muny District Board is important. All Appointing Committee members agreed. Chair Huffman asked if there were any other comments.

7. Item 5 (Approval):

Evan Thompson moved to move forward with the slate of Ken Tiemann, Mary Arnold, Volma Overton, III, Brian Greig, and Andrea McWilliams. Rod Welsh and Mark Wolfe seconded. Appointing Committee members unanimously approved.

Chair Huffman said that she would call Volma, Brian, and Andrea to confirm that they will accept positions on the Board.

8. Item 6 (Drawing for Board member terms)

Chair Huffman proposed that the Appointing Committee draw names from the group of five for the two Board members who would serve two year terms. Rod Welsh drew Volma Overton, III, and Mayor Adler drew Andrea McWilliams. The remaining three Board members will serve four year terms.

9. General discussion:

Carter Smith asked how the Appointing Committee planned to announce the final Board members, and how to close the loop with the applicants who were not selected.

Chair Huffman asked if the City of Austin's Public Affairs Office could draft a press release. She also said that she would draft a letter to notify the applicants that were not selected. Chair Huffman will confirm that the selected Board members are willing to serve.

Evan Thompson thanked Laura Huffman for chairing the committee, thanked all the committee members for their work, and thanked Scott Sayers and Holly Reed for their engagement and involvement

10. Meeting adjourned:

There being no further discussion, Rod Welsh moved to adjourn the meeting, and his motion was seconded by Mayor Adler. Appointing Committee members unanimously agreed. Meeting was adjourned at 8:10 a.m.