

AUSTIN ARTS COMMISSION AGENDA

Regular Meeting – Monday, November 18, 2019, 6:00 P.M. Cultural Arts Division, Bluebonnet Training Room 5202 E Ben White, Suite 400, Austin, TX 78741

CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS:

Jaime Castillo – Chair, Michelle Polgar – Vice Chair, Brett Barnes, Lulu Flores, Bears Rebecca Fonte, Felipe Garza, Mary Ellen Latouf, Amy Mok, Megan Moten, Krissi Reeves, Celina Zisman

CALL TO ORDER - 6:00 P.M.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

a. Approve the minutes for the Arts Commission Regular Meeting on October 21, 2019

2. STAFF BRIEFINGS

- a. Hotel Occupancy Tax report, presented by Sylnovia Holt-Rabb, Acting Deputy Director, Economic Development
- b. Cultural Funding Review Process Update by Alberto Mejia

3. CHAIR'S REPORT

- a. Art In Public Places Arts Commission Liaison Report Commissioner Barnes
- b. Downtown Commission Liaison Report Commissioner Garza
- c. Quality of Life Commission Updates

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL – 6:30 PM Time Certain

The speakers signed up prior to 6:30pm will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items posted and/or not posted on the agenda.

4. SPECIAL PRESENTATION

- a. Ammon Taylor, individual artist
- b. Nikki Devaughn, individual artist
- c. Renee Rice, Armadillo Art Bazaar, Passport to Art

5. NEW BUSINESS

- a. Approve Artwork Donation by Taylor Brown of sculpture entitled 9th for site at Duncan Park 900 W. 9th St, Austin, TX 78703, donated by 9th Street BMX, Art in Public Places
- b. Approve FY20 Q2 recommended Community Initiatives applications
- c. Discussion and possible action on formation of a guidelines working group or groups.
- d. Discussion and possible action on meeting location for the December 9, 2019 Arts Commission meeting
- e. Discussion and possible action on CSAP update.

6. OLD BUSINESS

- a. Discussion and Action Items
 - i. Omnibus
 - A. Update from Creative Space Bond Working Group Commissioners Reeves (Chair), Flores, LaTouf and Barnes and Music Commissioners Oren Rosenthal, Chaka Mahone and Stuart Sullivan
 - ii. Working Group Updates
 - A. Cultural Funding Program Responsiveness Working Group Commissioners Castillo, Polgar, Mok, and Fonte (Chair)
 - B. Joint Arts and Music Land Development and Permitting Working Group – Commissioners Polgar (Chair), Reeves, community members Zac Traeger and David Sullivan, and Music Commissioners Oren Rosenthal and Graham Reynolds
 - C. TEMPO Program Guidelines and Goals Working Group Commissioners Fonte, Barnes (Chair), Zisman, Polgar, community member Jade Walker and AIPP Panel members

7. ITEMS FOR INFORMATION

Next Regular Meeting will be on Monday, December 9 @ 6pm at Location TBD

8. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Anne-Marie McKaskle-Davis at the Cultural Arts Division, at 512-974-7854, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Austin Arts Commission please contact Anne-Marie McKaskle-Davis at 512-974-7854.