

AUSTIN ARTS COMMISSION REVISED AGENDA

Regular Meeting – Monday, January 27, 2020, 6:00 P.M. Economic Development Department, Cultural Arts Division, Bluebonnet Training Room 5202 E Ben White, Suite 400, Austin TX 78741

CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS:

Jaime Castillo – Chair, Michelle Polgar – Vice Chair, Brett Barnes, Lulu Flores, Bears Rebecca Fonte, Felipe Garza, kYmberly Keeton, Amy Mok, Krissi Reeves, Celina Zisman

CALL TO ORDER - 6:00 P.M.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

- a. Approve the minutes for the Arts Commission Regular Meeting on December 9, 2019
- b. Approve the minutes for the Special Called Meeting on January 13, 2020

2. STAFF BRIEFINGS

- a. Hotel Occupancy Tax report, presented by Sylnovia Holt-Rabb, Acting Deputy Director, Economic Development
- b. Cultural Funding Review Process, presented by Alberto Mejia

3. CHAIR'S REPORT

- a. Art In Public Places Arts Commission Liaison Report Commissioner Barnes
- b. Downtown Commission Liaison Report Commissioner Garza
- c. Quality of Life Commission Updates

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL - 6:30 PM Time Certain

The speakers signed up prior to 6:30pm will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items posted and/or not posted on the agenda.

4. NEW BUSINESS

- a. Appoint a Chair to the Art in Public Places Panel Nominating Committee
- b. Approve the Final Design by Yareth Fernández for Dove Springs Recreation Center, Art in Public Places Project
- c. Discussion and Possible Action on meeting calendar and locations
- d. Discussion of Cultural Funding Review Process (see discussion question below)

What does a thriving Austin cultural system look like to you?

5. OLD BUSINESS

- a. Discussion and Action Items
 - i. Discussion and possible action on formation of a guidelines working group
 - ii. Omnibus

A. Update from Creative Space Bond Working Group – Commissioners Reeves (Chair), Flores, LaTouf and Barnes and Music Commissioners Oren Rosenthal, Chaka Mahone and Stuart Sullivan

iii. Working Group Updates

- A. Cultural Funding Program Responsiveness Working Group Commissioners Castillo, Polgar, Mok, and Fonte (Chair)
- B. Joint Arts and Music Land Development and Permitting Working Group – Commissioners Polgar (Chair), Reeves, community members Zac Traeger and David Sullivan, and Music Commissioners Oren Rosenthal and Graham Reynolds
- C. TEMPO Program Guidelines and Goals Working Group Commissioners Fonte, Barnes (Chair), Zisman, Polgar, community member Jade Walker and AIPP Panel members

6. ITEMS FOR INFORMATION

Next Regular Meeting will be on Monday, February 24 @ 6pm at Cultural Arts Division Bluebonnet Training Room – 5202 E Ben White, Suite 400, Austin, TX 78741

7. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Anne-Marie McKaskle-Davis at the Cultural Arts Division, at 512-974-7854, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Austin Arts Commission please contact Anne-Marie McKaskle-Davis at 512-974-7854.