

Impact Fee Advisory Committee January 28, 2020 6:00 PM Town Lake Center, Room 100 721 Barton Springs Road Austin, Texas

For more information go to: <u>www.austintexas.gov/ifac</u>

MEETING MINUTES - APPROVED

Kris Bailey Lance Parisher Susan Turrieta Lottie Dailey Channy Soeur Dick Kallerman Bobak Tehrany

CALL TO ORDER – January 28, 2020, 6:00 p.m.

Chair Bailey called the meeting to order at 6:06 pm with a quorum present. Committee Members in Attendance: Kris Bailey, Dick Kallerman, Lance Parisher, Channy Soeur, Bobak Tehrany.

City of Austin Staff in Attendance: Liane Miller (Austin Transportation Department), Christina Romero, Aurora Pizano (Austin Water).

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a threeminute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda. *None*

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

a. Approval of minutes from the December 18, 2019 Impact Fee Advisory Committee meeting. *Committee Member (CM) Kallerman moved approval, CM Parisher seconded and the minutes were approved 4-0, with CM Soeur arriving after this action.*

2. NEW BUSINESS

a. Discussion and action on the water/wastewater Semi-Annual Impact Fee Report for April 1, 2019 through September 30, 2019 as set forth in the functions of the advisory committee, Austin City Code and Chapter 395.058 of the Texas Local Government Code.

Christina Romero and Aurora Pizano presented the semi-annual Impact Fee Report, noting increases in fee revenue as compared to the same period from last year. Chair Bailey requested additional detail be provided in the report for impact fee waivers. Chair Bailey made a motion to approve the report with direction to bring information regarding the waivers back to the committee at its next meeting. The motion was seconded by CM Tehrany and passed 5-0.

b. Committee discussion and possible approval of comments on the street impact fee study final draft report.

Liane Miller discussed the schedule for the committee to review and approve the street impact fee study final report. Jeff Whitacre (consultant with Kimley-Horn coordinating the street impact fee

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give at least 4 days' notice before the meeting date. Please call Liane Miller at Austin Transportation at 512-974-7922, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711

study) talked through the structure of the report and any changes that had been made since the precredit draft report was provided to the committee. The committee provided feedback on the content of the study foreword for staff to incorporate and share with the committee prior to the next meeting. Chair Bailey asked if any citizens wanted to speak on the item and Joyce Basciano from the Austin Neighborhoods Council addressed the committee.

c. Staff presentation and committee discussion of policy options for the street impact fee. *Jeff Whitacre recapped the presentation at the December 18, 2019 meeting including the calculation to determine service units (vehicle-miles) generated by new development. He also presented potential impact fee policy options for consideration by the committee and compared those to other cities in Texas. The committee discussed the impacts of the various options and their initial preferences.*

3. OLD BUSINESS

a. Discussion and possible action on future Impact Fee Advisory Committee meeting dates for 2020.

The committee decided the next IFAC meeting date would be March 4, 2020. It was agreed that subsequent meeting dates would be discussed at future meetings.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Discussion and approval of committee comments on the street impact fee policy proposal and draft ordinance.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Bailey adjourned the meeting at 8:35 pm.