# Special Meeting of the Joint Sustainability Committee May 27, 2020

# Joint Sustainability Committee to be held May 27, 2020 with Social Distancing Modifications

Public comment will be allowed via telephone; no in-person input will be allowed. **All speakers must register in advance (May 26, 2020 by Noon).** All public comment will occur at the beginning of the meeting.

To speak remotely at the May 27, 2020 Joint Sustainability Committee Meeting, residents must:

•Call or email the board liaison at Zach Baumer at 415-694-3111 and zach.baumer@austintexas.gov no later than noon, (May 26, 2020). The information required is the speaker name, item number(s) they wish to speak on, whether they are for/against/neutral, and a telephone number or email address.

•Once a request to speak has been called in or emailed to the board liaison, residents will receive either an email or phone call providing the telephone number to call on the day of the scheduled meeting.

•Speakers must call in at least 30 minutes prior to meeting start in order to speak, late callers will not be accepted and will not be able to speak.

•Speakers will be placed in a queue until their time to speak.

•Handouts or other information may be emailed to zach.baumer@austintexas.gov by Noon the day before the scheduled meeting. This information will be provided to Board and Commission members in advance of the meeting.

### JOINT SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE May 27, 2020 (1:00 pm) VIA VIDEOCONFERENCING



# AGENDA

#### **CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS:**

Kaiba White, Chair (Resource Mgmt.
Commission)
Katie Coyne, Vice-Chair (Environmental Commission)
Melissa Rothrock (Zero Waste Advisory Commission)
Kelly Davis (Urban Transportation Commission)
Fisayo Fadelu (Community Development Commission)

Karen Magid (Austin Travis County Food Policy Board)
Nhat Ho (Water & Wastewater Commission)
Holt Lackey (Economic Prosperity Commission)
Vacant - (Parks & Recreation Board)
David Carroll (Design Commission)
Alberta Phillips (City Council)
Karen Hadden (Electric Utility Commission)
Rob Schneider (Planning Commission)

For more information, please visit: www.austintexas.gov/jsc

## CALL TO ORDER

#### CITIZEN COMMUNICATION

The speakers who registered in advance for public comment have three minutes each to address items on the agenda at this time.

#### **1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

a) April 22, 2020 meeting of the Joint Sustainability Committee

#### 2. NEW BUSINESS

- a) Community Resilience Discussion (Discussion and/or possible action)
- b) Green Infrastructure Update (Discussion and/or possible action)

- c) Update on the Austin Community Climate Plan Revision (Discussion and/or possible action)
- d) Commission members report back on any relevant discussions from their respective boards and commissions (Discussion and/or possible action)

#### FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- Ongoing updates from Office of Sustainability on the Community Climate Plan revision
- Adaptation overview from US Forest Service workshop

#### ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Zach Baumer at with the Office of Sustainability at 415-694-3111 for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Joint Sustainability Committee, please contact Zach Baumer at (zach.baumer@austintexas.gov or 415-694-3111).