

# Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission July 15, 2020 at 3:00 P.M.

## **Environmental Commission to be held July 15, 2020 with Social Distancing Modifications**

Public comment will be allowed via telephone; no in-person input will be allowed. All speakers must register in advance (day before the scheduled meeting, July 14, 2020 by noon). All public comment will occur at the beginning of the meeting.

To speak remotely at the July 15, 2020 Environmental Commission Meeting, residents must:

- •Call or email the commission liaison at: Kaela Champlin (512) 974-3443 or Kaela.Champlin@austintexas.gov, no later than noon, (the day before the meeting). The information required is the speaker name, item number(s) they wish to speak on, whether they are for/against/neutral, and a telephone number or email address.
- •Once a request to speak has been called in or emailed to the board liaison, residents will receive either an email or phone call providing the telephone number to call on the day of the scheduled meeting.
- •Speakers must call in at least 15 minutes prior to meeting start in order to speak, late callers will not be accepted and will not be able to speak.
- •Speakers will be placed in a queue until their time to speak.
- •Handouts or other information may be emailed to <u>Kaela.Champlin@austintexas.gov</u> by noon the day before the scheduled meeting. This information will be provided to Board and Commission members in advance of the meeting.
- •Residents may watch the meeting here: http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live



### Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission July 15, 2020 3:00 P.M. To 4:30 P.M. VIA VIDEOCONFERENCING

http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live

#### **COMMISSIONERS:**

Andrew Creel (D-1)	Curtis Smith (D-2)	Pam Thompson (D-3)	Ryan Nill (D-4)
Mary Ann Neely (D-5)	Katie Coyne (D-6) Vice Chair	Peggy Maceo (D-7)	Kevin Ramberg (D-8) Secretary
Linda Guerrero (D-9) Chair	Wendy Gordon (D-10)	Perry Bedford (Mayor)	

### Agenda

#### CALL TO ORDER

#### 1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

a. Approval of the June 17, 2020 Environmental Commission Meeting Minutes (5 minutes)

#### 2. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. Update on the Environmental Commission Annual Internal Review—Linda Guerrero, Environmental Commission Chair (5 minutes)

#### 3. PUBLIC HEARINGS AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. Name: Circuit of the Americas (COTA) Planned Unit Development, C814-2018-0122

**Applicant:** Michele Rogerson-Lynch

**Location:** 9201 Circuit of the Americas (District 2) **Staff:** Atha Phillips, Environmental Officer's Office

Watershed: Dry Creek East and Maha Creek

**Request:** To create a Planned Unit Development (PUD) **Staff Recommendation:** Staff recommended with conditions

(30 minutes)

b. Name: Persimmons, SP-2018-0579C.SH

**Applicant:** Mike Mullone, Dunaway & Associates

**Location:** 7051 Meadow Lake Boulevard, Austin, TX 78744 (District 2)

Staff: Jonathan Garner, Environmental Program Coordinator, Development Services

Department

**Watershed:** Onion Creek Watershed, Suburban Watershed Classification, Desired Development Zone

**Request:** Request to vary from LDC 25-8-341 to allow cut of more than four feet on

slopes in excess of 15 percent gradient

Staff Recommendation: Staff recommends this variance with conditions

(30 minutes)

c. Name: 3002 Scenic Drive Boat Dock Replacement, SP-2020-1025D

**Applicant:** Rick Rasberry, Lake Austin Boat Docks and Shoreline Permits

Location: 3002 Scenic Drive, Austin, TX 78703 (District 10)

Staff: Radmon Rice

Watershed: Lake Austin watershed, Water Supply Rural

**Request:** Variance request is as follows:

Request to vary from LDC 25-8-281(C)(2)(b) to allow the construction within 150-foot of a Critical Environmental Feature (CEF).

**Staff Recommendation:** Staff recommends this variance, having determined the findings of fact to have been met.

(30 minutes)

#### 4. **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

- a. Urban Growth Policy and Water Quality Protection Committee Pam Thompson, Kevin Ramberg, Mary Ann Neely, Curtis Smith, and Perry Bedford
- b. Urban Forestry Committee Peggy Maceo, Pam Thompson, Linda Guerrero, and Mary Ann Neely
- c. Report on the Joint Sustainability Committee Katie Coyne
- d. Report on the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee Mary Ann Neely
- e. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board Mary Ann Neely, Peggy Maceo, Linda Guerrero, and Pam Thompson
- f. Report on the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board Linda Guerrero

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.

<sup>\*</sup> A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E).