

HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING MONDAY, May 18, 2020

The Human Rights Commission convened in a regular meeting on Monday, May 18, 2020 via teleconference in Austin, Texas.

Chair Sareta Davis called the Board Meeting to order at 1:06 p.m.

Board Members in Attendance: Chair Davis, Vice Chair Caballero, Commissioner Breckenridge, Commissioner Garry Brown, Commissioner Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Casas, Commissioner Griffith, and Commissioner Museitif, Commissioner Santana, Commissioner Weigel, and Commissioner White.

Staff in Attendance: Jonathan Babiak, Human Resources Coordinator, Human Resources Department

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes from the regular meeting of April 27, 2020 were approved on a vote of 11-0: Chair Davis motion, Commissioner Museitif second. Voting in favor were Chair Davis, Vice Chair Caballero, Commissioner Breckenridge, Commissioner Garry Brown, Commissioner Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Casas, Commissioner Griffith, and Commissioner Museitif, Commissioner Santana, Commissioner Weigel, and Commissioner White.

2. NEW BUSINESS

a. Discussion on the process and logistics for NDO hearings, specifically related to the Human Rights Commission special called meeting on November 13th, 2019 to "hear and rule on the appeal of No Reasonable Cause determination of the Equal Employment/Fair Housing Office in Case No. HRC-CF-18-003 under City Code Chapter 5-2 Discrimination in Public Accommodations." (Caballero/White)

The Commission discussed this item. The Commission took no action on this item.

b. Presentation by Ann Baddour, Texas Appleseed, and discussion and possible action in regards to changes in Ordinance No. 20190910-002 with the intent to establish fair lending practices and consumer protections. (Caballero/Weigel)

Ann Baddour, Texas Appleseed, and Rondella Hawkins, Officer, City of Austin Office of Telecommunications and Regulatory Affairs, addressed the Commission and answered questions from the Commission. The Commission discussed this item and worked informally to finalize the draft recommendation. Chair Davis moved for adoption, Commissioner Griffith second. The Commission adopted the recommendation on a vote

of 10-0-1. Voting in favor were Chair Davis, Vice Chair Caballero, Commissioner Garry Brown, Commissioner Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Casas, Commissioner Griffith, Commissioner Museitif, Commissioner Santana, Commissioner Weigel, and Commissioner White. Commissioner Breckenridge abstained.

c. Discussion and possible action on a Recommendation to Address Under-banking by Allowing City Libraries to Perform Limited Financial Services. (White/Caballero)

The Commission agreed informally to return this item to a future agenda.

d. Discussion and possible action on a Recommendation regarding Universal Basic Electricity. (White/Caballero)

The Commission discussed this item. Chair Davis moved for adoption, Commissioner Griffith second. The Commission adopted the recommendation on a vote of 11-0. Voting in favor were Chair Davis, Vice Chair Caballero, Commissioner Breckenridge, Commissioner Garry Brown, Commissioner Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Casas, Commissioner Griffith, and Commissioner Museitif, Commissioner Santana, Commissioner Weigel, and Commissioner White.

e. Discussion and possible action on Human Rights Commission Officer Elections for Chair and Vice Chair. (Davis/Caballero)

The Commission discussed this item.

Chair elections: Chair Davis moved to override the Human Rights Commission bylaws, Article 4.(C), term limits provision to allow herself to be considered for the Office of Chair, Commissioner Museitif second. The motion passed on a vote of 10-0. Voting in favor were Chair Davis, Vice Chair Caballero, Commissioner Breckenridge, Commissioner Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Casas, Commissioner Griffith, and Commissioner Museitif, Commissioner Santana, Commissioner Weigel, and Commissioner White. Commissioner Garry Brown was absent. Sareta Davis nominated herself for the Office of Chair, Commissioner Museitif second. Kristian Caballero nominated herself for the Office of Chair, Commissioner Weigel second. Chair Davis closed the nominations. Eight votes were cast for Sareta Davis: Chair Davis, Commissioner Breckenridge, Commissioner Garry Brown, Commissioner Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Casas, Commissioner Griffith, Commissioner Museitif, and Commissioner Santana. Three votes were cast for Kristian Caballero: Vice Chair Caballero, Commissioner Weigel, and Commissioner White.

Vice Chair elections: Commissioner Casas nominated Commissioner Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Santana second. Commissioner Santana moved to consider Commissioner Jamarr Brown as Vice Chair, Chair Davis second. The motion passed on a vote of 11-0. Voting in favor were Chair Davis, Vice Chair Caballero, Commissioner Breckenridge, Commissioner Garry Brown, Commissioner Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Casas, Commissioner Griffith, and Commissioner Museitif, Commissioner Santana, Commissioner Weigel, and Commissioner White.

3. OLD BUSINESS

- a. The Commission discussed the following key priority areas of concern for 2019-2020:
 - i. Institutional Equity
 - ii. Environment & Land Use
 - iii. Health Access & Nutrition
 - iv. Autonomy & Human Right

Paul Saldana and Lourdes Zuniga addressed the Commission on this item. The Commission took no action on this item.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Davis adjourned the meeting at 2:28 p.m. on unanimous consent.