

ARTS COMMISSION MONDAY, NOVEMBER 16, 2020 – 5:30pm-7:30pm VIA VIDEOCONFERENCING

CURRENT ARTS COMMISSION BOARD MEMBERS:

Jaime Castillo – Chair, Michelle Polgar – Vice Chair, Brett Barnes, Lulu Flores, Bears Rebecca Fonte, Felipe Garza, kYmberly Keeton, Amy Mok, Celina Zisman, Rick Van Dyke

Absent: Felipe Garza, Amy Mok, Rick van Dyke

MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER - 5:37 PM

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION

The speakers signed up prior to noon on **Sunday, November 15** will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items posted on the agenda.

None

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

a. Approve the minutes for the regular Arts Commission meeting on October 19, 2020

Minutes not ready.

Commissioner Fonte arrived on the dais.

2. CHAIR'S REPORT

a. Council election results

3. STAFF BRIEFINGS

- a. Austin Economic Development Corporation (AECD) and \$12 million Creative Bond updates David Colligan, AECD Acting Chief Operating Officer
- b. Museums and Cultural Programs Division update Laura Esparza, Division Manager
- c. Grant for Technology Opportunities Program (GTOPs) Update Jesse Rodriguez

d. Cultural Funding Review Process update – Meghan Wells, Cultural Arts Division Manager

Move 5.a.i., 5.a.ii., 5.a.iii., 5.a.iv., 5.a.v. to before New Business.

Motioned: Polgar Seconded: Fonte

Motion passed 7-0, Commissioners Garza, Mok, and Van Dyke absent

Move to pass items 4.a.i., 5.a.i., 5.a.ii., 5.a.ii., 5.a.iv., 5.a.v. as one on consent.

Motioned: Polgar Seconded: Fonte

Motion passed 7-0, Commissioners Garza, Mok, and Van Dyke absent

4. NEW BUSINESS

a. Discussion and Action Items

i. Approve the Prospectus for Gus Garcia Recreation Center Approved on consent

ii. Approve the 2nd Quarter Community Initiatives funding recommendations Approve all including alternates and ADA requests.

Motioned: Flores Seconded: Barnes

Motion passed 7-0, Commissioners Garza, Mok, and Van Dyke absent

iii. Create a Working Group to recommend nominee(s) to the Austin Economic Development Corporation Board

Move to create a Working Group to recommend nominee(s) to the Austin Economic

Development Corporation Board comprised of Commissioners Flores, Keeton, and Polgar.

Motioned: Zissman Seconded: Barnes

Motion passed 7-0, Commissioners Garza, Mok, and Van Dyke absent

iv. Quarterly review of Arts Commission Goals Discussion, no action taken.

5. OLD BUSINESS

- a. Art in Public Places
 - i. Approve the Deaccession of AIPP Artwork Republic Square Fountain by James Turner

Approved on consent

- ii. Approve the Deaccession of AIPP Artwork Moments by Carl Trominski Approved on consent
- iii. Approve the Deaccession of AIPP Artwork LAB by Next Project Approved on consent
- iv. Approve the Deaccession of AIPP Artwork Karst Circle by Gary W. Smith Approved on consent

v. Approve the Deaccession of AIPP Artwork Bicentennial Fountain by Ken Fowler

Approved on consent

- b. Working Group updates
 - i. CSAP joint Arts & Music Working Group Commissioners Fonte, Polgar and Zisman
 - ii. Equity Resource Working Group with Commissioners Polgar, Castillo, and Keeton who will serve as chair
 - iii. "Imagine-Austin Town Center" Joint Working Group with Economic Prosperity, Veteran's, and Music Commissions with Arts Commissioners Van Dyke and Garza

6. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 7:41 PM.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Jesús Pantel at the Cultural Arts Division, at 512-974-9315, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Arts Commission please contact Jesús Pantel at 512-974-9315.