

RECOMMENDATION REGARDING NOMINEE TO THE AUSTIN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION BOARD

Historic Landmark Commission Recommendation 20210125-004A

WHEREAS, the Historic Landmark Commission has been afforded an opportunity to appoint an individual to serve on the board of the Austin Economic Development Corporation (AEDC); and

WHEREAS, at the December 14, 2020 meeting, the commission delegated to the Preservation Plan Committee the receipt and consideration of nominees for the AEDC; and

WHEREAS, the Preservation Plan Committee is comprised of commissioners Terri Myers, Alex Papavasiliou, Beth Valenzuela, and Ben Heimsath; and

WHEREAS, the committee received a total of three (3) nominations with the required applications and paperwork, for Ben Heimsath, Alyson McGee, and Bradford Patterson; and

WHEREAS, the committee met on January 21, 2021 to consider nominees; each candidate attended to present their credentials and answer questions from the committee, and Mr. Heimsath participated as a candidate rather than a committee member; and

WHEREAS, the three (3) committee members in attendance voted unanimously to recommend Bradford Patterson to the Historic Landmark Commission at its January 25, 2021 meeting; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Patterson meets the criteria for nomination to the AEDC: he is a resident of the city of Austin; holds a strong background, understanding, and familiarity with historic preservation and its connections to economic development through his statewide work as the Director of Community Heritage Development at the Texas Historical Commission; understands the organization's role; and has committed to regular attendance on the working board;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Historic Landmark Commission of the City of Austin:

The commission hereby nominates Bradford Patterson as the Historic Landmark Commission

appointee to the Austin Economic Development Corporation.

Motioned by: _____ Seconded by: _____

Vote
For: Against: Abstain: Abstain: Absent:

ADOPTED: January 25, 2021 ATTEST:

Terri Myers, Chair, Historic Landmark Commission