

Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) March 11, 2021 at 2:30 pm VIA VIDEOCONFERENCING

CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:

Brigham Morris Place holder
Dr. Sterling Lands Place holder
Erin Dempsey Place holder
Errol Hardin Place holder
Eugene Schneider Place holder
Hoang Le Place holder

Luis Gonzalez Prabhu Kannan

Members in Attendance

Brigham Morris
Dr. Sterling Lands
Erin Dempsey
Errol Hardin
Eugene Schneider
Hoang Le
Luis Gonzalez

Staff in Attendance

Matthew Dugan Lisa G. Rodriguez

MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER

Prabhu Kannan

ICRC Liaison called the meeting to order at 2:37pm with 8 members present.

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first three speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

No members of the public registered to speak.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

On Commissioner Lands' motion, Commissioner Schneider's approval, the March 5, 2021, minutes were unanimously approved.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Matt Dugan at the Housing and Planning Department, at 512-974-7665 and matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission, please contact Matt Dugan at 512-974-7665 and matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov or Lisa Rodriguez at 512-974-3119 and lisa.rodriguez@austintexas.gov.

2. NEW BUSINESS

The ICRC may discuss and take action on the following agenda items:

A. Selection of remaining six commissioners

On Commissioner Schneider's motion, Commissioner Lands' second, the five highest scoring candidates were unanimously selected, to include: Commissioners Kambo, Calderon, Keswani, Puentes, and Zaragoza. Following discussion, Commissioner Finch was selected to fill the final seat, completing the 14-member composition of the ICRC.

B. Selection of interim Chair

This item was tabled for the next meeting with the ICRC's complete membership.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

• Selection of Chair and Vice Chair of the ICRC

ADJOURNMENT

On Commissioner Schneider's motion, Commission Dempsey's second, the meeting was adjourned at 3:25pm without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Matt Dugan at the Housing and Planning Department, at 512-974-7665 and matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission, please contact Matt Dugan at 512-974-7665 and matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov or Lisa Rodriguez at 512-974-3119 and lisa.rodriguez@austintexas.gov.