

Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) June 16, 2021 at 3:00 pm VIA VIDEOCONFERENCING DRAFT MINUTES

CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:

Prabhu Kannan
Brigham Morris
Errol Hardin
Eugene Schneider
Erin Dempsey
Luis Gonzalez, Vice-Chair
Dr. Sterling Lands

Members Present
Prabhu Kannan
Brigham Morris
Errol Hardin
Eugene Schneider
Luis Gonzalez, Vice-Chair
Hoang Le
Shaina Kambo
Sara Inés Calderón
Selina Yee
Christina Puentes, Chair

Hoang Le Shaina Kambo Sara Inés Calderón Selina Yee Christina Puentes, Chair Joshua Blank Place holder

Members Absent Erin Dempsey Dr. Sterling Lands

Staff Present Matt Dugan Lila Valencia Jane Goodall Lisa Rodriguez

Meeting Goals: Establish Working Groups/Committees, Select 14th Commissioner, Identify Dates for Staff Candidate Interviews

CALL TO ORDER

Joshua Blank

Chair Puentes called the meeting to order at 3:04pm with 10 members present. Commissioner Morris joined the meeting from 3:05 – 4:00pm, and Commissioners Dempsey and Lands were absent.

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first three speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

Peck Young (NAACP Committee on Redistricting) addressed the ICRC.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Discussion and possible action on the June 2, 2021, ICRC meeting minutes.

On Commissioner Blank's motion, Commissioner Hardin's second, the June 2, 2021, minutes were unanimously approved.

2. OLD BUSINESS

The ICRC may discuss and take action on the following agenda items:

A. Selection of Remaining Commissioner

On Commissioner Calderon's motion, Vice Chair Gonzalez's second, Camellia Falcon was unanimously elected to fill the remaining vacant seat.

B. Update from Hiring Working Group

On Commissioner Calderon's motion, Commissioner Yee's second, the board unanimously approved a motion for the Hiring Working Group to select three finalists from the ICRC staff candidate pool for each position, and to draft interview questions and a scoring rubric to present to the full board at the next meeting.

3. NEW BUSINESS

The ICRC may discuss and take action on the following agenda items:

A. Icebreaker: "What influenced your decision to apply for placement on the ICRC?"

Vice Chair Gonzalez lead the icebreaker activity.

B. Presentation on Robert's Rules of Order: Kirk Overbey

Kirk Overbey gave the presentation.

C. Records Management: Jannette Goodall, City Clerk

Jannette Goodall suggested that the records management information could be distributed in a memo, and the Chair concurred.

D. Commission Skills Survey Results:

- 1. Establish Working Groups
- 2. Establish Committees

On Commissioner Blank's motion, Commissioner Calderon's second, the ICRC unanimously approved the formation of the following Working Groups and Committees, with no more than five members each, appointed by Chair Puentes:

Working Groups		Committees	
Communications	Public Hearings	<u>Finance</u>	Final Report
Calderon	Gonzalez	Gonzalez	Blank
Dempsey	Lands	Hardin	Hardin
Kambo	Kambo	Le	Kannan
Puentes	Schneider	Morris	Puentes
Yee		Schneider	

E. Updates from City:

- 1. Budget Increase Template
- 2. Available City Facilities for Public Hearings
- 3. Utilizing Other Video Conferencing Platforms?
- 4. ICRC Message Board?

Matt Dugan gave the updates.

4. STAFF BREIFINGS

Briefing on Austin demographics: Lila Valencia, Housing and Planning Department

Lila Valencia gave the briefing.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- Presentation on redistricting
- Presentation on Austin history from Peck Young (NAACP)
- Public Hearing schedule for July and August
- Communications Working Group report
- Finance Committee budget briefing

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Puentes adjourned the meeting at 5:25pm without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Matt Dugan at the Housing and Planning Department, at 512-974-7665 and matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission, please contact Matt Dugan at 512-974-7665 and matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov or Lisa Rodriguez at 512-974-3119 and lisa.rodriguez@austintexas.gov.