

## HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION MINUTES

# SPECIAL CALLED MEETING MONDAY, April 26, 2021

The Human Rights Commission convened in a Regular meeting on Monday, April 26, 2021 via teleconference in Austin, Texas.

Chair Sareta Davis called the Board Meeting to order at 5:44 p.m.

Board Members in Attendance: Chair Davis, Vice Chair Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Breckenridge, Commissioner Garry Brown, Commissioner Caballero, Commissioner Casas, Commissioner Griffith, Commissioner Museitif, and Commissioner Santana.

Staff in Attendance: Jonathan Babiak, Human Resources Coordinator, Office of Civil Rights

## CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

None

#### 1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

- a. The minutes from the regular meeting of March 22, 2021 were approved on a vote of 9-0: Chair Davis motion, Commissioner Garry Brown second. Voting in favor were Chair Davis, Vice Chair Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Breckenridge, Commissioner Garry Brown, Commissioner Caballero, Commissioner Casas, Commissioner Griffith, Commissioner Museitif, and Commissioner Santana. Commissioner Areche and Commissioner Weigel were absent.
- b. The minutes from the special called meeting of April 19, 2021 were approved on a vote of 8-0-1: Chair Davis motion, Commissioner Griffith second. Voting in favor were Chair Davis, Vice Chair Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Breckenridge, Commissioner Garry Brown, Commissioner Caballero, Commissioner Casas, Commissioner Griffith, and Commissioner Santana. Commissioner Museitif abstained. Commissioner Areche and Commissioner Weigel were absent.

#### 2. NEW BUSINESS

a. Discussion and possible action on Human Rights Commission Officer Elections for Chair and Vice Chair. (Davis/Brown, J.)

The Commission voted to override the term limits provisions in the bylaws for the election of the office of Chair by a vote of 9-0: Commissioner Garry Brown motion, Commissioner Museitif second. Voting in favor were Chair Davis, Vice Chair Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Breckenridge, Commissioner Garry Brown, Commissioner Caballero, Commissioner Casas, Commissioner Griffith, Commissioner Museitif, and Commissioner Santana. Commissioner Areche and Commissioner Weigel were absent.

The Commission elected Sareta Davis to the office of Chair on a vote of 9-0: Commissioner Santana motion, Commissioner Griffith second. Voting in favor were Chair Davis, Vice Chair Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Breckenridge, Commissioner Garry Brown, Commissioner Caballero, Commissioner Casas, Commissioner Griffith, Commissioner Museitif, and Commissioner Santana. Commissioner Areche and Commissioner Weigel were absent.

The Commission elected Isabel Casas to the office of Vice Chair on a vote of 9-0: Chair Davis motion, Commissioner Garry Brown second. Voting in favor were Chair Davis, Vice Chair Jamarr Brown, Commissioner Breckenridge, Commissioner Garry Brown, Commissioner Caballero, Commissioner Casas, Commissioner Griffith, Commissioner Museitif, and Commissioner Santana. Commissioner Areche and Commissioner Weigel were absent.

## 3. OLD BUSINESS

- a. The Commission discussed the following key priority areas of concern for 2020-2021:
  - i. Institutional Equity
  - ii. Environment & Land Use
  - iii. Health Access & Nutrition
  - iv. Autonomy & Human Right

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Chair Davis adjourned the meeting at 6:17 p.m. on unanimous consent.