

RESOURCE MANAGEMENT COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES Tuesday, April 20, 2021

The Resource Management Commission convened via videoconference on Tuesday, April 20, 2021 in accordance with social distancing protocols necessitated by the COVID 19 pandemic.

Commissioners in Attendance: Dana Harmon, Chair (District 9); Kaiba White, Vice Chair (District 2); Shane Johnson (District 4); Jonathan Blackburn (District 8); Rebecca Brenneman (District 10); Lisa Chavarria (Mayor); Tom "Smitty" Smith (District 5). Vacancy (District 7)

Commissioners Absent: Sam Angoori (District 3); James Babyak (District 6); Nakyshia Fralin (District 1)

CALL TO ORDER – Chair Harmon called the meeting to order at 6:12 p.m.

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: Paul Robbins- Energy Code

Consent Items: APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve minutes of the January 19, 2021 meeting.

The motion to approve the minutes of the January 19, 2021 meeting was approved on Commissioner Smith's motion, Commissioner Chavarria's second; passed on a 6-0 vote, with Commissioner Brenneman off the dais, Commissioners Babyak, Fralin, and Angoori absent, and one vacancy.

2. Approve minutes of the March 8, 2021 Joint Meeting of Resource Management and Electric Utility Commissions.

The motion to approve the minutes of the March 8, 2021 joint meeting was approved on Commissioner Smith's motion, Commissioner Chavarria's second; passed on a 6-0 vote, with Commissioner Brenneman off the dais, Commissioners Babyak, Fralin, and Angoori absent, and one vacancy.

NEW BUSINESS – CONSENT

- () = Target Council Meeting Date; [] = RCA Type
- 3. (4/22) [Resolution] Recommend approval of a resolution authorizing Austin Water (AW) to issue incentives on a pilot basis during Fiscal Year 2020-2021 for alternatives onsite water reuse systems for large new commercial and multi-family developments under AW's new regulatory framework in the total aggregate amount of \$1,000,000 and not exceed \$500,000 for each project.

The motion to recommend was on Commissioner Smith's motion and Commissioner White's second; recommended on a 6-0 vote, with Commissioner Brenneman off the dais, Commissioners Babyak, Fralin, and Angoori absent, and one vacancy.

STAFF REPORTS AND BRIEFINGS

4. REACH Update

Erika Bierschbach, Vice President of Market Operations and Resource Planning of Austin Energy presented the REACH Update.

5. Austin Energy Green Building Presentation

Kurt Stogdill, Green Building and Sustainability Manager of Austin Energy presented the Austin Energy Green Building Presentation.

OTHER BUSINESS

6. Officer elections

Motion to elect Jonathon Blackburn as chair was made by Commissioner Harmon and seconded by Commissioner Smith; passed on a 6-0 vote, with Commissioner Brenneman off the dais, Commissioners Babyak, Fralin, and Angoori absent, and one vacancy.

Motion to elect Kaiba White as vice chair was made by Commissioner Harmon and seconded by Commissioner Smith; passed on a 6-0 vote, with Commissioner Brenneman off the dais, Commissioners Babyak, Fralin, and Angoori absent, and one vacancy.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- 7. Discuss potential future agenda items Slated for May
 - Texas Gas Service Quarterly Update
 - Austin Water Quarterly Update
 - Drinking Water Protection Zone
 - CES Budget Briefing
 - Austin Energy Green Building Presentation
 - Solar Incentive/Shared Solar Program

ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 7:35 p.m.