

Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) June 30, 2021 at 6:00 pm VIA VIDEOCONFERENCING

CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:

Prabhu Kannan
Brigham Morris
Errol Hardin
Eugene Schneider
Erin Dempsey
Luis Gonzalez, Vice-Chair
Dr. Sterling Lands

Members Present

Prabhu Kannan
Brigham Morris
Errol Hardin
Erin Dempsey
Camellia Falcon
Luis Gonzalez, Vice-Chair
Hoang Le
Sara Inés Calderón
Selina Yee

Christina Puentes, Chair

Joshua Blank

Hoang Le Shaina Kambo Sara Inés Calderón Selina Yee Christina Puentes, Chair Joshua Blank Camellia Falcon

Members Absent Eugene Schneider Shaina Kambo Dr. Sterling Lands

Staff PresentMatt Dugan
Lisa Rodriguez
Caroline Webster, Law Department

Minutes

Meeting goals: Interview candidates and make final hiring decisions for Administrative Manager and Legal Counsel staff positions, public hearings proposed schedule report out, public hearings promotion proposed plan report out

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Puentes called the meeting to order at 6:03pm with 11 members present. Commissioners Kambo, Lands, and Schneider were absent.

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first three speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

Peck Young (NAACP Committee on Redistricting) addressed the ICRC.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The June 16, 2021, minutes were approved without objection.

2. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

The ICRC may discuss and take action on the following agenda items

A. Update from Hiring Working Group

Commissioner Yee gave an update on the hiring process.

3. NEW BUSINESS

The ICRC may discuss and take action on the following agenda items:

- A. Interviews for staff:
 - 1. Administrative Manager

Gilda (Lynette) Shapovalov and Christine Granados interviewed with the ICRC.

2. Legal Counsel

Attorneys David Mendez, Syd Falk and George Korbel interviewed with the ICRC.

B. Executive Session

Executive Session was not held, as the commission opted to evaluate the candidates publicly.

C. Final Hiring Decision on:

1. Administrative Manager

On Commissioner Blank's motion, Commissioner Yee's second, the motion to extend the Administrative Manager job offer to Christine Granados was approved on a 9-1-1 vote, with Commissioner Falcon voting nay, and Commissioner Kannan abstaining.

2. Legal Counsel

On Commissioner Calderon's motion, Commissioner Kannan's second, the motion to extend the Legal Counsel contract offer to the team of George Korbel and David Richards was unanimously approved.

D. Update from Public Hearings Working Group

Commissioner Gonzalez gave the update. Chair Puentes appointed Commissioner Falcon to the Public Hearings Working Group without objection.

E. Update from Communications Working Group

Commissioner Calderon gave the update. Chair Puentes appointed Commissioner Falcon to the Communications Working Group and removed Commissioner Kambo without objection.

F. Update from Finance Committee

The Finance Committee did not meet. Commissioner Gonzalez gave the update regarding the draft budget.

- G. Updates from City:
 - 1. Employee Contract Template
 - 2. Budget Increase Template
 - 3. July 7 Meeting

Matt Dugan gave the update.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- Presentation from NAACP
- Presentation from Henry Flores on the Voting Rights Act
- Action on proposed public hearing schedule
- Update on ICRC document storage

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Puentes adjourned the meeting at 10:00pm without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Matt Dugan at the Housing and Planning Department, at 512-974-7665 and matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission, please contact Matt Dugan at 512-974-7665 and matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov or Lisa Rodriguez at 512-974-3119 and lisa.rodriguez@austintexas.gov.