ARTS COMMISSION SPECIAL CALLED MEETING WEDNESDAY, JULY 21, 2021 – 5:30pm-7:30pm VIA VIDEOCONFERENCING



CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS:

Michelle Polgar – Chair, Celina Zisman – Vice Chair, Brett Barnes, Jaime Castillo, Lulu Flores, Acia Gray, Felipe Garza, kYmberly Keeton, Amy Mok, Heidi Schmalbach, Rick Van Dyke

Commissioners Barnes and Keeton absent

MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER 5:40pm

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

Sharron Bower Anderson – ATX Theatre

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

- a. Approve the minutes for the regular Arts Commission meetings on:
 - i. June 30, 2021

Motioned - Flores Seconded - Zisman

Approved on Consent

ii. July 19, 2021

Motioned Mok Seconded Castillo

Approved on Consent

2. CHAIR'S REPORT

- a. Check in
- b. Art in Public Places liaison report
- c. Boards & Commissions liaisons (including AEDC)

3. SPECIAL PRESENTATIONS

a. Special presentation from the Visit Austin Foundation by Mary Kay Hackley, Visit Austin Foundation Executive Director

4. STAFF BRIEFINGS

a. Hotel Occupancy Tax Update – Sylnovia Holt-Rabb, Economic Development Department

- b. American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Update Sylnovia Holt-Rabb, Economic Development Department
- c. Cultural Funding Update Meghan Wells, Cultural Arts Division Manager
- d. Non-Profit Relief Grant Update Laura Odegaard, Cultural Arts Division, Project Manager

5. NEW BUSINESS

a. AIPP Discussion and Action Items

Motion to approve AIPP items 5.a.i, 5.a.ii, 5.a.ii, 5.a.iv, and 5.a.v on consent Motioned Flores Seconded Castillo Approved on consent

- Approve the Selection Process Recommendation for the Del Valle Austin Fire Department and Austin-Travis County Emergency Medical Services (AFD/EMS) Station AIPP Project Approved on consent
- ii. Approve the Selection Process Recommendation for the Travis Country AFD/EMS Station AIPP Project Approved on consent
- iii. Approve the Selection Process Recommendation for the AFD22/EMS12 (East Riverside) Station AIPP Project Approved on consent
- iv. Approve the Selection Process Recommendation for the AFD1/EMS6 (Downtown) Station AIPP Project Approved on consent
- v. Approve the Final Design by Veronica Ceci for the TEMPO 2021 Art in Public Places Project Approved on consent

Motion to approve AIPP items 5.a.vi, 5.a.vii, and 5.a.viii Motioned Castillo Second Flores Approved on consent

- vi. Approve the Final Design by Anthony "Mobley" Watkins II, Adrian Armstrong, Dawn Okoro for the TEMPO 2021Art in Public Places Project Approved on consent
- vii. Approve the Final Design by Olaniyi Akindiya for the TEMPO 2021 Art in Public Places Project Approved on consent
- viii. Approve the Selection Process Recommendation for the Gus Garcia Recreation Center AIPP Project Approved on consent

- b. Misc. Discussion and Possible Action Items
 - i. Establish a working group to explore opportunities for the creative community with Commissioners Barnes and Keeton

Motion to postpone this item to August Meeting Motioned Castillo seconded Zisman Vote 9-0

Commissioners Barnes and Keeton absent

- ii. Establish a working group to discuss Dillo bus service for downtown Austin No action taken
- iii. Discussion and possible action related to 2021-2022 City Budget request
 Motion to draft a recommendation in support of a single FTE for Economic
 Development Department for Community Engagement
 Motioned Gray Second Castillo
 9-0

Commissioners Barnes and Keeton absent

Motion to move 5.b.v before 5.b.iv

Motioned Castillo Seconded Zisman

9-0

Commissioners Barnes and Keeton absent

iv. Discussion and Possible Action on July 19, 2021 MJR Resources goals workshop

Motion to postpone to August meeting

Motioned Castillo Seconded Schmalbach

9-0

Commissioners Barnes and Keeton absent

v. Approve Arts Commission Annual Report for 2020 and Goals for 2021 Motion to form a working group to revise the goals for 2021 with commissioners Flores (chair), Mok, Polgar and Gray Motioned Flores Seconded Mok

9-0

Commissioners Barnes and Keeton absent

6. OLD BUSINESS

- a. Working Group updates
 - i. Emergency Funding and Proactive Strategies for Future Funding Working Group with Commissioners Flores, Van Dyke, Zisman (chair), Barnes and Schmalbach

No action taken

ii. Equity Resource Working Group with Commissioners Polgar, Castillo, and Keeton (chair)No action taken iii. Joint Art & Music Land Development Working Group with Commissioners Chair Polgar (chair), Castillo and working group members from the Music Commission No action taken

- iv. Quarterly Arts Community Commission Meet-ups Working Group with Commissioners Barnes, Castillo, Gray and Garza No action taken
- v. Art Neighborhoods Working Group with Commissioners Mok, Vice Chair Zisman, Gray and Van Dyke (chair) No action taken
- vi. Joint Working Group for Joint Cultural Committee with Commissioners Chair Polgar, Castillo (chair) and working group members from the Quality of Life Commissions No action taken
- vii. Joint Music/Arts Commission Working Group to identify additional funding resources and strategies beyond HOT with Commissioner Schmalbach, and Commissioner Flores members from the Music Commission

 No action taken

7. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Establish a working group to explore opportunities for the creative community with Commissioners Barnes and Keeton (Old Business)

Discussion and Possible Action on July 19, 2021 MJR Resources goals workshop (Old Business)

Approve Arts Commission Annual Report for 2020 and Goals for 2021 (Old Business)

AIPP update/discussion (September 2021 meeting)

ADJOURNMENT – 8:27pm

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call <u>Anne-Marie McKaskle-Davis</u> at Economic Development Department, at <u>512-974-7854</u>, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Arts Commission, please contact <u>Anne-Marie McKaskle-Davis</u> at 512-974-7854.