

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION (CDC)

February 8, 2022 – 6:30pm Austin City Hall, Board and Commission- Room 1101 301 West 2nd Street, Austin, TX 78701

Some members of the Community Development Commission may be participating by video conference.

The meeting may be viewed online at: http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live.

Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely by telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once, either in-person or remotely, and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation. To register, call or email the board liaison at 512-974-1606 or jesse.gutierrez@austintexas.gov

CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS:

Amit Motwani, Chair	Fisayo Fadelu	Vacant	Julia Woods
Public Sector Appointee	Public Sector Appointee	Dove Springs	South Austin
Karen Paup, Vice Chair	Cheryl Thompson	Kendra Garrett	Eloise Sepeda
Private Sector Appointee	St. John's	Private Sector Appointee	Public Sector Appointee
Bertha Delgado	Miriam Garcia	Heidi Sloan	Vacant
East Austin	North Austin	Public Sector Appointee	Rosewood-Zaragosa/Blackland
Joe Deshotel	Jose Noe Elias	Michael Tolliver	
Public Sector Appointee	Montopolis	Colony Park	

Please visit https://austintexas.gov/cdc for more information about the Community Development Commission.

Purpose: The purpose of the board is to advise the Council in the development and implementation of programs designed to serve the poor and the community at large with an emphasis on federally funded programs.

AGENDA

CALL TO ORDER

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Discussion and possible action on the December 14, 2021, Community Development Commission meeting minutes.

2. COMMUNITY SERVICES BLOCK GRANT (CSBG)

- a) Briefing and discussion on the Community Services Block Grant (CSBG) (Angel Zambrano, Manager, Neighborhood Services Unit, Austin Public Health)
- b) Presentation, discussion, and possible action on the Update for the 2020 2024 Neighborhood Services Strategic Plan (Angel Zambrano, Manager, Neighborhood Services Unit, Austin Public Health).

3. NEW BUSINESS

- a) Introduction to new Civil Rights Office and new Office Director (Carol Johnson, Civil Rights Office)
- b) Update from Code Department regarding mold issues and policy that came from winter storm Uri (Daniel Word, Austin Code Department)
- c) Presentation and update on citywide resiliency hubs (Marc Coudert, Office of Sustainability)
- d) Briefing and discussion on Equitable Transit-Oriented Development (ETOD) (Laura Keating, Housing and Planning Department, and Anna Lan, CapMetro)

4. WORKING GROUP AND COMMITTEE REPORTS

- a) Update from the Joint Sustainability Committee (Commissioner Fadelu)
- b) Update from the Austin Transit Partnership (ATP) Community Advisory Committee (Commissioner Elias)
- c) Update from the Housing Investment Review Committee (HIRC) (Commissioner Deshotel)
- d) Update from the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board (SCWAB) (Vice Chair Paup)

5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice by calling 512-974-1606 at least 2 days prior to the meeting date. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Community Development Commission, please contact Jesse Gutierriez at 512-974-1606. CDC Commissioners may contact CTM for email/technology assistance: 512-974-4357.