

DOWNTOWN COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 19, 2022

The Downtown Commission convened in a meeting on Wednesday, October 20, 2021, at 301 W. 2nd Street in hybrid meeting format.

Downtown Commissioners in Attendance:

August Harris, Chair David Gomez, Commissioner

Christopher Lehman, Vice Chair
Megan Meisenbach, Commissioner

Nelly Paulina Ramirez, Commissioner

Cynthia Weatherby, Commissioner

Kimberly Taylor, Commissioner

Mike Lavigne, Commissioner

Laura Templeton, Commissioner

Jen Weaver, Commissioner

Joel Sher, Commissioner

Ben Heimsath, Commissioner

Kelan Robinson, Commissioner

Downtown Commissioners Not in Attendance:

Chris Kanipe, Commissioner, Preston Reine Commissioner, Josh Lickteig, Commissioner, Christopher Limon, Commissioner, kYmberly Keeton, Commissioner

City Staff in Attendance:

Mona Sanchez and Christine Maguire, Economic Development Department Brian Block, Development Services Department Andrew Rice and Elizabeth Brummett, Housing and Planning Department

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called the meeting to order at 5:34 p.m.

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

No citizens were signed up to speak.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF THE OCTOBER 20, 2021, MEETING MINUTES

The October 20, 2021, Downtown Commission meeting minutes were adopted.

2. NEW BUSINESS - Discussion and Possible Action

- **a.** Safer Sixth Street Initiative: Presentation by Brian Block, Development Services Department
 - i. Creation of a Downtown Commission Safer Sixth Street Working Group Chair Harris motioned to create the Downtown Commission Safer Sixth Street Initiative Working Group with Commissioner Lavigne's second on a vote of 8-0.
- **b.** Rainey Street Trailhead (SPC-2021-0286C): Presentation by Heidi Anderson, Trail Foundation

Commissioner Meisenbach motioned to support Community Engagement Concept 2 of the Rainey Street Trailhead with Commissioner Sher's second on a vote of 8-0.

c. Historic Resources Survey for Old Austin Neighborhood Association: Presentation by Andrew Rice and Elizabeth Brummett, Housing and Planning Department The Commission received a presentation from Andrew Rice and Elizabeth Brummett, Housing and Planning Department.

No action was taken.

2. OLD BUSINESS

b. Convention Center Expansion Working Group

Commissioner Templeton and Commissioner Lavigne provide an update of the work being done with Professor Sanders from UT San Antonio.

Items from representatives of collaborating commissions including non-voting members

- **a.** Update from Commissioner Jen Weaver on recent activities and actions taken by the Design Commission.
 - Commissioner reported that the Design Commission discussed the 80 Rainey Street Tower, and their work on the Great Streets Program.
- **b.** Update from Commissioner Ben Heimsath on recent activities and actions taken by the Historic Preservation Commission.
 - Commissioner Heimsath reported that the Commission passed the old west Austin warehouse for historic designation.
- **c.** Update from Commissioner Cynthia Weatherby on recent activities and actions taken by the Urban Transportation Commission (UTC)
 - Commissioner Weatherby updated the Commission on the UTC work on the Strategic Mobility
- **d.** Update from Commissioner kYmberly Keeton on recent activities and actions taken by the Arts Commission.
 - Commissioner Keeton absent; no updates.
- **e.** Update from Commission Christopher Limon on recent activities and actions taken by the Music Commission.
 - Commissioner Limon absent; no updates.
- **f.** Update from Commissioner Kimberly Taylor on recent activities and actions taken by the Parks & Recreation Board
 - Commissioner Taylor absent, no updates.
- g. Update from Commissioner Nelly Paulina Ramirez on recent activities and actions taken by the Public Safety Commission.
 No updates.

2. POTENTIAL FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- Update on the Preservation Plan
- Update on the Great Streets Program
- Active Transportation around Alternate Mobility; Scooters
- Update on Homelessness; Budget and Activity
- Downtown Austin Community Court

Adjournment 7:32 P.M.