

The Human Rights Commission convened in a regular meeting on Monday, March 28, 2022, at 301 West 2nd Street, Austin, Texas 78701.

Chair Davis called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m.

Commissioners in Attendance: Sareta Davis.

Commissioners in Attendance Remotely: Isabel Casas, Idona Griffith, Alicia Weigel, Garry Brown, Malenie Areche, Maram Museitif.

Commissioners Absent: Jared Breckenridge, Kimberly Brienzi, Jamarr Brown, and Kristian Caballero.

Staff in Attendance: Andrea Jordan.

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Adam Orman: Speaking on hate crime within the city's protocols and processes. Sharyn Vane: Speaking on the rise of hate incidents.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Chair Davis made a motion to approve the minutes from the Human Rights Commission regular meeting of February 28, 2022. Commissioner Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed on a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioners Breckenridge, Brienzi, J. Brown, and Calaballero absent. Commissioner Museitif abstained.

The Commission did not take action on the minutes from the Human Rights Commission's March 4, 2022, Special Meeting.

2. NEW BUSINESS

a. Discussion of briefing on legislation that passed that affects the city – presented by the City's Intergovernmental Relations Office (IGRO) sponsored by (Davis/Casas)

The Commission did not act on the new business. No report/presentations.

3. OLD BUSINESS

a. Commissioners will report on and discuss the status of the Commission's key priority areas of concern for 2021-2022, including plans and strategies for meeting those key priority areas of concern:

- i. Institutional Equity
- ii. Environment & Land Use
- iii. Health Access & Nutrition
- iv. Autonomy & Human Rights

Commissioner Weigel to sponsor further discussion and possible action about hate crimes in the City of Austin from public communication. Commissioner Davis co-sponsored.

Commissioner Museitif to sponsor an investigation regarding the change and turnover from the Office of Civil Rights. Commissioner G. Brown co-sponsored.

Chair Davis made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:33pm; Commissioner Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed on a vote of 7-0 with Commissioners Breckenridge, Brienzi, and J. Brown, Caballero absent.