

### COMMUNITY TECHNOLOGY & TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc

### **MINUTES**

Regular Meeting
Wednesday – June 8, 2022 – 6:30 PM
City Hall – Boards and Commissions - Room 1101
301 W. 2nd Street - Austin, TX 78701

Please go to <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards">http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards</a> commissions/meetings/10\_1.htm for backup material associated with this agenda.

All ATXN (City Channel 6) programming is cablecast on Spectrum, Grande Communications, and Google Fiber on their cable channel 6, on AT&T U- Verse Channel 99 and webcast online. Over 20 meetings per month, including this commission meeting, are available on demand online, typically within a few hours of the cablecast. Schedules and video can be found at:

http://www.austintexas.gov/page/atxn-video-archive.

Sumit DasGupta - Council Member Alison Alter, District 10

### **CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:**

Sophie Gairo - Mayor Steve Adler
Nehemiah Pitts III - Council Member Natasha Harper-Madison, District 1
Steven Apodaca – Council Member Vanessa Fuentes, District 2
Malcolm Yeatts - Council Member Sabino "Pio" Renteria, District 3
Cristina Garza - Council Member José "Chito" Vela, District 4
Dave Floyd - Council Member Ann Kitchen, District 5
Vacant - Council Member Mackenzie Kelly, District 6
Maxine Eiland - Council Member Leslie Pool, District 7
Jennifer Ramos - Council Member Paige Ellis, District 8
Nicole Thompson – Council Member Kathie Tovo, District 9

### **Commission Members Present**

Nehemiah Pitts III Malcolm Yeatts Cristina Garza Dave Floyd

### **Commission Members Attending Remotely**

Steven Apodaca Maxine Eiland Sumit DasGupta

#### **Unexcused Absence**

Jennifer Ramos Sophie Gairo Nicole Thompson

### CALL TO ORDER

Meeting Called to order at 6:37 pm.

### **PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL**

The first ten speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

Commissioner Courtney Rosenthal spoke on cryptocurrency and blockchain technology and related City of Austin staff investigations of the technology. She requested the commission request staff presentations on these investigations.

## 1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES -April 13, 2022 and May 11, 2022

An edit was read into the record to amend the District 4 Council member represented to reflect the election results.

Motion to approve the April 13 and May 11 as amended made by Commissioner Apodaca and seconded by Chair Pitts passed on a vote of 6-0-1 with Commissioner Garza abstaining.

- 2. STAFF AND COMMUNITY BRIEFINGS (A member of the public may not address a board at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing)
  - a. United Way presentation on ConnectATX (Anabella Tarango, Francisco Gallegos)

Presentation by Anabella and Francisco can be viewed here: https://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=386181

- 3. NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action)
  - a. Commission Discussion on FCC Broadband Standards (Discussion and Action)

FCC Broadband Speed Guide:

https://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=386182

FCC Broadband FAQ: https://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=386183

FCC Household Broadband Guide:

https://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=386184

b. Commission Discussion on the Digital Inclusion Strategic Plan (Discussion and Action)

The commission discussed the State digital inclusion strategic plans and how they relate to the City's plans to refresh its existing digital inclusion strategic plan. The conversation can be viewed here: <a href="https://austintx.new.swagit.com/videos/175196">https://austintx.new.swagit.com/videos/175196</a>

## c. Commission Discussion on an Intelligent Infrastructure Resolution (Discussion and Action)

The commission discussed wording of a possible resolution supporting intelligent infrastructure. The discussion can be viewed here: https://austintx.new.swagit.com/videos/175196

Commissioner Garza joined the Knowledge, Information, and Data Stewardship Working Group.

# Motion to continue the meeting for an extra 10 minutes made by Chair Pitts and passed on a vote of 7-0.

### 4. COMMISSION UPDATES (Discussion and Possible Action)

## a. Digital Inclusion, Civic Engagement, and Strategic Technology and Telecom Policy Working Group

Chair Pitts noted that GTOPs Mini reviews are under way.

## b. Knowledge, Information, and Data Stewardship Working Group

Chair Pitts noted that Vice Chair Apodaca will be setting the date for this meeting going forward.

### c. Technology, Infrastructure, and Innovation Working Group

No additional discussion on this item.

### **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

No items mentioned

### **ADJOURNMENT**

The motion to waive the rules and allow the Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission to meet after 10 p.m. was approved on consent.

# Motion to adjourn made by Commissioner DasGupta and seconded by Commissioner Yeatts passed on a vote of 7-0 at 10:10 PM.

The minutes were approved at the July 13<sup>th</sup>, 2022 meeting on Commissioner Thompson's motion, Chair Pitt's second on a vote of 7-0.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Jesse Rodriguez at the Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs at (512) 974-7676, for additional information; TTY users' route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission, please visit their website at <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc">http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc</a> or contact Jesse Rodriguez at <a href="jesse.rodriguez@austintexas.gov">jesse.rodriguez@austintexas.gov</a>.

Posting Submitted by: Jesse Rodriguez, Business Process Specialist, Wednesday, July 1, 2022