

SOUTH CENTRAL WATERFRONT ADVISORY BOARD

Regular Meeting Minutes August 15, 2022 at 6:00pm

The South Central Waterfront Advisory Board Convened in a Regular meeting on August 15, 2022 at Austin City Hall, Boards and Commissions Room 1101, 301 W. 2nd Street Austin, Texas

Chair S. Franco called the Meeting to order at 6:04 pm

BOARD MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Samuel Franco, *Chair*Jeffrey Thompson, *Vice Chair*Ana Aguirre, *Board Member*Karen Paup, *Board Member*Josh Rudow, *Ex Officio*Laura Cottam-Sajbel, *Board Member*

BOARD MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE REMOTELY:

Sherri Ancipink, *Board Member* Paul Byars, *Board Member* John Guinan, *Ex Officio*

STAFF IN ATTENDANCE:

Christine Maguire Aaron D. Jenkins Margaret Shaw

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

None

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. The minutes from the Regular meeting of May 16, 2022 were approved on *Board Member L. Cottam-Sajbel* motion, *Vice Chair J. Thompson* second on a vote of 5-1-0. Board Member S. Ancipink abstained.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 2. Sylnovia Holt-Rabb of the City of Austin Economic Development Department and Theresa Alvarez of the Austin Economic Development Corporation (AEDC) presented to the Board their respective role and addressed questions and concerns.
 - a. Discussion occurred but no action was taken

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

- 3. Discussion and Possible action of the July 28th City Council Statesmen PUD hearing.
 - a. Discussion occurred but no action was taken

WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES

- 4. Update from the Finance and Governance Working.
 - a. *Chair S. Franco* updated the board on the Working Group's meeting with Deputy CFO Kim Olivares, which discussed the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone (TIRZ), other funding tool kits, and how the monies generated from these tool kits could be used for affordable housing.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

5. The board made a request for an update of the Regulating Plan and Funding Tools

ADJOURNMENT

Chair S. Franco the meeting at 8:20pm without objection

The minutes were approved with the corrections of two typos at the September 19, 2022, meeting on Board Member L. Cottam-Sajbel motion, and Board Member A. Aguirre second on a 6-0-0 vote.