

# **Austin City Council MINUTES**

For Special called meeting - october 15, 1986 - 4:00 p.m. Fourth floor auditorium - central library

Council Chambers, 307 West Second Street, Austin, Texas

# **City Council**

Frank C. Cooksey Mayor

John Treviño, Jr. Mayor Pro Tem

Council Members
Mark Rose
Smoot Carl-Mitchell
Sally Shipman
George Humphrey
Charles E. Urdy

Jorge Carrasco City Manager

Elden Aldridge City Clerk

# Memorandum To:

Mayor Cooksey called to order the special called meeting of the Council, noting the presence of all Council-members. Work Session was held on Shavanno Woods.

BOARD AND COMMISSION APPOINTMENTS

The Council made the following board and commission appointments.

# Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Carl-Mitchell's motion, Councilmember Rose's second, voted to confirm the following organizations as a part of Austin Community Education Consortium: (6-0 Vote, Councilmember Urdy out of the room.)

Austin Chamber of Commerce, Austin Neighborhood Council, Parks and Recreation Board and League of Women Voters

## Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Carl-Mitchell's motion, Councilmember Rose's second, approved Mary Guerro Pelzel, Roger Bailey, Mr. J.V. Winn Jr. and Mary Benevides as members of Construction Advisory Committee. (6-0 Vote)

#### Motion

The Council, on Mayor Pro Tem Trevino's motion, Councilmember Rose's second, appointed the following to the <u>Downtown Commission</u>: (6-0 Vote, Councilmember Urdy out of the room.)

Rick Baudoin, Martin Camp, Exalton Delco, Cliff Drummond, Mark Finley, Nancy Cannon Kohlar, Robert Metlen, Roger Smith

#### Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Carl-Mitchell's motion, Council-member Rose's second, approved John Barclay III as a member of the MH/MR Board of Trustees. (6-0 Vote, Councilmember Urdy out of the room.)

#### Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Shipman's motion, Councilmember Carl-Mitchell's second, approved Mr. Robert G. Downing as a member of the Plumbing Advisory Board. (6-0 Vote, Councilmember Urdy out of the room.)

## Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Shipman's motion, Councilmember Carl-Mitchell's second, approved the appointment of Michael Labinski as a member of the Renaissance Market Commission. (6-0 Vote, Councilmember Urdy out of the room.)

# Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Carl-Mitchell's motion, Councilmember Humphrey's second, appointed Blake J. Magee as a member of the Zoning Oversight Committee. (6-0 Vote, Councilmember Urdy out of the room.)

#### Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Carl-Mitchell's motion, Councilmember Shipman's second, appointed Glenna Mills Balch and Natalie de Blois as permanent members and Doyal Nelms as an alternate member of the Board of Adjustment. (6-0 Vote, Councilmember Urdy out of the room.)

# Motion +

The Council, on Councilmember Rose's motion, Councilmember Shipman's second, appointed Albert Stowell, Fred Robinson, and James Reed as members of the Building Standards Commission. (7-0 Vote)

#### Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Urdy's motion, Councilmember Shipman's second, appointed Mr. Ronald Fleming as a member of the Economic Development Commission. (7-0 Vote)

### Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Carl-Mitchell's motion, Mayor Pro Tem Trevino's second, appointed Carlos Cardenas as a member of the Electric Utility Commission. (7-0 Vote)

# Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Rose's motion, Councilmember Carl-Mitchell's second, appointed Mr. Ray Henry as a member of the Employee's Retirement Board. (7-0 Vote)

# Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Carl-Mitchell's motion, Council-member Shipman's second, approved Darrell Glasco as a member of the Historic Landmark Commission. (7-0 Vote)

# Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Carl-Mitchell's motion, Councilmember Shipman's second, approved the appointment of Diana Castaneda, Cynthia Valadez and Zeke Romo as members of the Mexican-American Cultural Center Task Force. (6-0 Vote, Councilmember Urdy out of the room.)

## Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Humphrey's motion, Councilmember Rose's second, appointed Louise M. Nivison, Sue C. Robinson, and Tom E. Spencer as members of the <u>Parks and Recreation Board</u>. (7-0 Vote)

#### Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Carl-Mitchell's motion, Council-member Humphrey's second, appointed Bill Faust, Claire D. McAdams and Laura Toups as members of the <u>Water and Wastewater Commission</u>. (6-0 Vote)

#### Motion

The Council, on Councilmember Carl-Mitchell's motion, Councilmember Shipman's second, appointed Shannon Brown and Ann Dubois as members of the Arts Commission. (6-0 Vote, Councilmember Urdy out of the room.)

#### Motion

Mayor Cooksey made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Rose to appoint Robert Floyd as a member of the Electric Utility Commission.

#### Substitute Motion

Councilmember Humphrey made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Shipman to elect Peck Young as a member of the Electric Utility Commission. Motion FAILED by a vote of 2-5 with Mayor Cooksey Mayor Pro Tem Trevino, Councilmembers Carl-Mitchell, Rose and Urdy voting No.

Roll Call on Main Motion for EUC - 7-0 Vote

#### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Mayor Cooksey announced Council would enter into Executive Session pursuant to Article 6252-17, Texas Revised Civil Statutes Annotated, to discuss matters as follows. No official action of the City Council will be taken on any of these matters unless such item is specifically listed on the agenda.

- a. Pending Litigation Section 2, Paragraph e
  - (1) STNP Cancellation Campaign
  - (2) Travis County Water Control District #8 V. City of Austin
  - (3) Overton, et al. v City of Austin, et al. (single member district lawsuit)

#### RECESS AND ADJOURNMENT

 $\circ$ 

Council recessed its meeting for executive session at 5:35 p.m. and resumed its recessed meeting at 6:20 p.m. in order to adjourn the meeting at that time.