y_{ij}

PAGE 02

(Z-6

Zilker Neighborhood Association

P.O. Box 33546 • Austin, TX 78764-0546 • 512-447-7681

November 16, 2004

City Council of Austin

Re: Case Number Z- 6 C14-04-0101 S. Lamar at Mary & Evergreen Dr. Proposed Zoning change (entire block) to CS-MU-CO

Dear Council Members.

The Zilker Neighborhood Association executive committee has voted to oppose the blanket rezoning of this block. Primarily, we are concerned that the City's proposal to rezone the entire block seems to pre-empt the neighborhood planning process for our area a few months before it is scheduled to begin.

This block should serve as the Zilker neighborhood's gateway to the new branch library for South Austin and to the park, greenbelt, and trails being developed along Bouldin Creek. If freight traffic is moved from the Union Pacific tracks, the area will also become much more attractive to residential uses. We would hope those uses would complement the existing housing at the beautifully preserved historic mill property at Evergreen and Mary. Therefore, ZNA cannot support the attempt to rezone the entire block without the benefit of a comprehensive neighborhood plan.

In the past, ZNA has worked with individual property owners to encourage art studio and workshop uses here that would also be compatible with the historic mill and the existing small retail uses. We urge council to preserve the existing conditional overlays on those properties. We fear that the staff recommendation of CS for the entire block, with no restrictions on undesirable automotive and convenience storage uses, will endanger the existing mix of small retail and office uses and eliminate any prospect to incorporate residential uses into that mix. Merely affixing the label MU to the zoning category does not insure mixed use.

We hope council will deny this rezoning and allow the individual property owners to pursue their own applications regarding the two remaining SF3 properties on this block.

Thank You,

Michael Heffernan

Zilker Neighborhood Association Zoning Co-chair

Officers, 2004-1005

Loredne Atherton, President & Robin Sherwin, Vide President & Hill Abell, Vice President
Rachel Reinmeyer, Secretary & Andrew Murphy, Treasurer

Elizabeth Yevich, ANC Delegate . Peggy Kalley, Newsletter Editor

RECEIVED

: :::: 1 **8 2004**