The above resolution was granted by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Avery, Haynes, Nolen and Searight, 5; nayes, none.

The Council then recessed.

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL:

Austin, Texas, February 4, 1924.

The Council was called to order by the Mayor. Roll call showed the following members present: Mayor Yett, Councilmen Avery, Haynes, Nolen and Searight, 5; absent, none.

A number of written appeals of taxpayers against the valuations as fixed by the Board of Equalization were read and action upon same was deferred. Motion prevailed by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Avery, Haynes, Nolen and Searight, 5; nayes, none.

The Council then adjourned.

REGULAR MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL:

Austin, Texas, February 7, 1924.

The Council was called to order by the Mayor. Roll call showed the following members present: Mayor Yett, Councilmen Avery, Haynes, Nolen and Searight, 5; absent, none.

The Minutes of the last meetings were read and upon motion of Councilman Haynes were adopted by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Avery, Haynes, Nolen and Searight, 5; nayes, none.

A. F. Lamar appeared before the Council and presented a petition signed by Clinton Owsley and others, aksing that certain street improvements be made on San Pedro Street. Councilman Haynes moved that the petition be referred to Councilman Searight. Motion prevailed by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Avery, Haynes, Nolen and Searight, 5; nayes, none.

Upon the recommendation of Capt. J. H. Rogers, City Marshal, Councilman Nolen nominated W. A. Meredith as a regular plain clothes police officer of the City of Austin, to fill a vacancy in the Department, such nomination to be effective February 2nd, 1924. Nomination was confirmed by the following vote:

Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Avery, Haynes and Searight, 4; nayes, none, Councilman Nolen present but not voting.

Councilman Nolen nominated A. P. Campbell as special policeman, to act as special police officer at the City Hospital in emergency cases. Nomination was confirmed by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Avery, Haynes