filed.

The Council then recessed.

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL:

## Austin, Texas, October 17, 1923.

The Council was called to order by the Mayor. Roll call showed the following members present: Mayor Yett, Councilmen Avery, Haynes, Nolen and Searight, 5; absent, none.

Judge W. B. Garrett, Attorney for the H&TC Railway Company, and J. H. Walsh, Superintendent of the H&TC Railway, appeared before the Council and presented plans for certain proposed improvements at the H&TC and LK&T Depots. Action upon same was deferred.

The Council then adjourned.

## REGULAR MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL:

## Austin. Texas. October 18, 1923.

The Council was called to order by the Mayor. Roll call showed the following members present: Mayor Yett, Councilmen Avery, Haynes, Nolen and Searight, 5; absent, none.

E. B. Blalock, President of the Trades Council, appeared before the City Council and asked permission to use a part of East Avenue for the Conn T.Kennedy Shows for the week beginning November 5th and ending November 10th, 1923.

Permission was granted, provided same be held under the direction of the Police and Street Commissioners, by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Avery, Haynes, Nolen and Searight, 5; nayes, none.

The petition of John Spence and others was read and Councilman Avery moved that same be referred to Councilman Searight by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Avery, Haynes, Nolen and Searight, 5; nayes, none.

The monthly reports of Milton Morris, Auditor, of Warrants issued during the Month of September, Mrs. R. C. Walker, Pure Food Inspector, R. E. Nitschke, City Sexton, Robert Rockwood, Fire Marshal, and C. L. Woodward, Chief of the Fire Department, were read and ordered filed.

The report of the Safety Committee on the application of A. L. Ehrlich for permission to install a gasoline tank and pump at the southeast corner of Fifth and Comal Streets was read and Councilman Avery moved that permit be granted as recommended by the Safety Committee. Motion prevailed by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Avery, Haynes, Nolen and Searight, 5;