448

BRECIAL MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL:

<u>Austin, Texas, April 16, 1921.</u>

The Council was called to order by the Mayor. Roll call showed the following members present: Mayor Yett, Councilmen Alford, Graham, Haynes and Ward, 5; absent, none.

In the matter of the contest of J. H. Rogers and Jno. S. Ward, Contestants, and H. L. Haynes, Contestee, after hearing the arguments of counsel, D. K. Woodward, Attorney for J. H. Rogers, Warren W. Moore, Attorney for H. L. Haynes, and Jno. S. Ward, representing himself, Councilman Haynes moved that the pleas as to jurisdiction of the City Council as presented by J. B. Rector, City Attorney, be sustained. Councilman Ward moved as a substitute that the motion be not sustained. A vote Was taken upon the substitute motion, which was lost by the following vote: Ayes, Councilman Ward, Nayes, Mayor Yett, Councilman Alford, Graham and Haynes, 1 aye, 4 nayes.

A vote was then taken upon the original motion of Councilman Haynes, which motion prevailed by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Alford, Graham and Haynes; Nayes, Councilman Ward; 4 ayes, 1 mayes.

Councilman Haynes introduced the following resolution:

Whereas, by virtue of a general city election held in the City of Austin Texas, on the 4th day of April, A. D. 1921, for the purpose of electing a mayor and four city councilmen, the official returns from the election officials certified and showed, and thereafter the report of the city clerk to this council also certified and showed, that W. D. Yett was duly elected Mayor of said city for the ensuing two years after the date of said election, having received a majority of all votes cast in said election; and also that J. D. Copeland, George P. Searight, Walter L. Eyres and Harry L. Haynes received the highest number of votes for the positions of councilmen of said city in the order named for the ensuing two years after the date of said election,

Now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF AUSTIN, TEXAS; IN KRETING ASSEMBLED:

That the following be and are declared duly elected and nuthorized to qualify for the respective positions to which they were elected, to-wit, W. D. Yett, Mayor; J. D. Copeland, Councilman; George P. Searight, Councilman; Walter L. Eyres, Councilman; and Harry L. Haynes, Councilman.

The above resolution was adopted by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Alford, Grahum and Haynes, 4; mayes, Councilmen Ward.

The petition of B. H. Williams, Agent for the Gulf Hefining Company, asking for permission to erect an electric sign at #107-109 Congress Avenue was granted by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Alford, Graham, Haynes and Ward, 5; nayes, none.

The Council then recessed.