to May 1st, 1919, for the sum of one Hundred Dollars (\$100.00).

Councilman Haynes moved that Upleger & Falk be allowed the sum of One Hundred Dollars (\$100.00) extra in addition to their contract.

Motion prevailed by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Copeland, Eyres, Haynes and Searight, 5; nayes, none.

The Council then recessed.

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL:

Austin, Texas, May 10,1921,

The Council was called to order by the Mayor. Roll call showed the following members present: Mayor Yett, Councilmen Copeland, Eyres, Haynes and Searight, 5; absent, none.

After hearing a number of arguments for and against the appointment of a moving picture censor, the Council took the matter under advisement.

The Council then adjourned.

REGULAR MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL:

Austin, Texas, May 12, 1921.

Parsformely Bis Alersi.

The Council was called to order by the Mayor. Roll call showed the following members present: Mayor Yett, Councilmen Copeland, Eyres, Haynes and Searight, 5; absent, none.

The Minutes of the last meetings were read and upon motion of Councilman Haynes were adopted by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilman Copeland, Eyres, Haynes and Searight, 5; nayes, none.

Upon the recommendation of Sam D. Griffin, Chief of Police, Councilman Copeland nominated the following to be Special Policemen of the City of Austin:

- B. B. Neans, J. F. Martin, George W. Patterson, and O. M. Roberts, Special Watchmen at Texas State University;
 - S. M. Foster, Special Watchman for Guy Collett at the Dam; Bob Rockwood, Special Duties at Picture Shows;
- J. A. Nelson, R. L. Ziller, A. H. Pool, C. W. Barker, Frederick J. Bohn, A. W. Von Struve, H. C. Edgar, and Harvey Harrell, to assist in enforcement of traffic laws;
 - J. K. Rambo, City Park Policeman;

- S. A. Works, City Prison Guard:
- G. W. Lipscomb, W. T. Allen, L. B. Bruton, Watchmen in I&GN Railroad Yards:
 - W. H. Enders, Watchman in H&TC Railroad Yards;

Los Evans, City Dog Catcher;

Gilbert Robertson, Special Policeman at Public Schools;

J. C. Parry, Special Policeman for L. Frank Produce Company;

Fred Johnson, Special Policeman at Deep Eddy;

J. A. Woody, Joe Smith, S. J. Kelley, Joe Amstead, John Hawkins, T.A. Stone, C. A. Bradford, Ed Shands, W. O. Rutledge, Tom J. White, Alex McKenzie, Vance Potter, S. W. Spencer, A. H. Von Rosenberg, to assist in police work on special occasions.

All of the above nominations were confirmed by the following vote: Ayes Mayor Yett, Councilmen Eyres, Haynes and Searight, 4; nayes, none, Councilmen Copeland not voting.

W. D. Hart, Attorney for D. A. Gregg, appeared before the Council and asked that some action be taken in regard to the claim of D. A. Gregg against the City of Austin.

W. D. Hart, Attorney for Miss Mary Johnson, appeared before the Council and asked that W. E. Dozier be required to remove his garage back within the property line.

The following monthly reports were read and ordered filed:

Fred Sterzing, Assessor and Collector; C. L. Woodward, Chief of the Fire Department; Robert Rockwood, City Fire Marshal; Jas. H. Maxwell, Sealer of Weights and Measures; Mrs. R. C. Walker, Pure Food Inspector, Miss Nellie M. Hall, Secretary United Charities; Dr. A. A. Biebel, Meat and Dairy Inspector; J. D. Copeland, Superintendent Police and Public Safety; W. A. Alff, City Sexton; Dr. C. H. Brownlee, City Health Officer.

The Council then recessed.

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL:

Austin. Texas. May 13, 1921.

The Council was called to order by the Mayor. Roll call showed the following members present: Mayor Yett, Councilmen Copeland, Eyres, Haynes and Searight, 5; absent, none.

The Mayor introduced the following ordinance:

"An ordinance amending an ordinance entitled 'An ordinance establishing safety zones in the City of Austin, regulating the use of same, and providing penalties for the violation of said ordinance'; and declaring an emergency."

The ordinance was read the first time and Councilman Eyres moved that the rule be suspended and the ordinance placed on its second reading. Motion prevailed by the following vote: Ayes, Mayor Yett, Councilmen Copeland, Eyres,