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3.  What happens AFTER you have completed the 

process:  After you have completed the above 

process, your vehicle identifiers will be entered as 

STOLEN into both the Texas Crime Information 

Center and the National Crime Information Center 

(TCIC/NCIC). This means that if an officer runs 

the license plate and/or VIN through their 
computer system, the vehicle will show stolen. 

4.
What happens when your vehicle is located: 

a. Your vehicle will be impounded by the Law 

Enforcement Agency that recovers it. You may be 

notified by that police agency or the towing 

company within 48 hours, and may also be 

notified by the APD Auto Theft Unit.  You will be 

given the location where your vehicle was towed.  

b.
c.  Call the towing company before going to pick 

it up to find out what documents are required 
in order to release it. Ask about fees and 

methods of payment.   

d.

e.  You are responsible for paying all charges and 

fees associated with towing your vehicle to 

safety and storage until you can pick it up. 

f.

g.  If your vehicle is damaged, cost of repairs is your 
responsibility.  You should contact your vehicle 

insurance company to seek reimbursement.  You 
or your insurance company may seek civil 

restitution for these costs.  This is a civil matter, 

however, and Austin Police will not be involved in 

the civil aspects. 

 If someone is arrested and charged with UUMV, 

you   

 may also ask the District Attorney’s Office, prior to 
 the offender’s trial, if restitution for damages and  

 costs can be part of the conviction. You may or 
may  

 not receive reimbursement.  Refer to the District  

 Attorney and State law for guidance. 

h.

You may also seek civil restitution in Small Claims 

Court, or by filing a law suit to recover costs and 

damages.  Small Claims are handled by the 

Justice of the Peace for your area and you can 

determine your precinct by your address.  

If the offender is arrested OUTSIDE the State 

of Texas, you are required to pay for the 

“offender’s” extradition (transport back to Texas). 

You have 48 hours to make arrangements with 

the Travis County District Attorney’s Office, and 

they require cash deposit in advance.   

Travis County District Attorney’s Office:  
(512) 854-9400

 Please call for an appointment only after  
   this UUMV process has been completed. 

Reports will be taken by appointment only. The 

Auto Theft Unit is not able to accept walk-in’s who 

do not have an appointment with an assigned 
detective.   

Auto Theft Unit: (512) 974-5265 

Austin Police Department 

U.U.M.V.

UNAUTHORIZED USE 

OF MOTOR VEHICLE 

1. APD Case # ______-_____________

2. U.S. Postal Tracking #

________________________________ 

3. Assigned Detective:

________________________________ 

U.U.M.V.:  When a person allowed access to, or 

with permission to operate your vehicle for any 

period of time, for any reason, refuses to return it 

with intent to permanently deprive you of the 

vehicle. 

 Current status of your vehicle - and police 

response:   

You were the last person with care, control and 

custody of the vehicle.  YOU must complete ALL of 
the following steps. There will not be a criminal 

investigation or police response until all the 
following steps have been completed: 

1.

2. Complete the UUMV form letter provided:  You can 

use the form letter provided, or type your own. If you 

create your own letter, proper wording is important.  

Make certain exact vehicle information, specific 

demands, and time frame to return vehicle, as seen 

on the form letter, are included. 
3.

4. Certified Mail Letter:  YOU must complete a UUMV 
Demand letter, sign it, and then go to a US Post 

Office or Mail Store and have it mailed as “Certified 

Mail with Return receipt requested”. The letter must 

be addressed to the “offender”, and mailed to their 

last known address. You are responsible for any 

postal charges. ** It is recommended that you make 

a copy of signed letter for your records ** 

5.
6. About the “last known address”:  We understand 

that their last known address may have been your 
address, it may be a hotel, or it may be an address 

from which they recently moved.  Send the certified 

letter with return receipt to the address, regardless 

of the circumstances. 

7.

8. One of two things will happen after the “Certified 

Letter/return receipt requested” is mailed: 

1,  The letter will be returned because the “offender” 
did not sign for it, in which case the US postal 

service will document the fact on that letter and 
receipt, and return both to you.  This is the required 

proof needed show you “attempted” notification.   

2. The “offender” received, and signed for your 

letter on the “return receipt”.  In this case, the US 

Postal service will give you a “return receipt”, and

this is your required proof.

** KEEP YOUR UNOPENED RETURNED 
CERTIFIED LETTER or RETURN RECEIPT. Do 

not open the letter – leave it sealed.  The 
prosecutor and detective will need this 

evidence. ** 

2. You must wait Ten (10) days after you receive 

“return receipt” or “returned Certified letter”, 

AND if the vehicle has not been returned to the 

location you specified in your letter, this is when to 

CALL the APD Auto Theft Unit to make an 
appointment to provide a sworn statement and to 

bring your UNOPENED LETTER or the RETURN 
RECEIPT. 



      

Austin Police Department 
Auto Theft Unit 

 

AUTO THEFT/BURGLARY PREVENTION TIPS 
 
 
 

1. In over 50% of Austin Auto Thefts reported every month, the victim believed it was safe to lock or leave their keys 
inside the car.  Listed below are the most common ways your car can be stolen, and how you can reduce the risk of 
becoming a victim of auto theft or burglary: 
 

a. DON’T leave keys (to any vehicle) locked inside a vehicle parked outside. This includes leaving the “valet” 
key inside – this key starts your car.  Car burglars looking for valuables often decide to steal the other car once 
they find a car key. 
 

b. If you have a TOUCH PAD entry car door, or a KEYLES FOB:   DON’T lock your car key inside believing it 
is secure.  Car thieves specifically target “touch pad entry” and keyless fob vehicles because they know it is 
far more likely that the owner locks the key inside. 
 

c. DON’T leave a garage door opener or house-keys inside any car parked in the driveway. Car Burglars can 
gain immediate access to your home or loved ones. 

 
d. DON’T leave a purse, wallet, house keys, laptop, jewelry, or cell phone where others can see them. Car 

burglars look for a quick target and are far more likely to choose your car. A car burglar may determine you are 
away from home and may find your home address on papers, documents, mail, insurance cards, or on IDs in 
wallets.  They may also find bank information, personal identification numbers, or passwords, and steal from 
you again. 

 
e. DON’T leave your car running while you run into the store, or back inside the house to get what you forgot.  

If you have a passenger or kid’s in the car and get out, lock the door behind you.  Again, car thieves wait for 
unsuspecting drivers to make these mistakes and are quick to act on it. 

 
 

2. Think twice before loaning your car to another.  Did you know? 
a. If your car becomes involved in a wreck while loaned to another, you’re liable for cost of repairs and injuries.  

Costs may not be covered by your car insurance because the driver wasn’t insured.   
 

b. The cost to impound your vehicle after a collision, and to repair it, is ultimately still your responsibility, regardless of 
the criminal or civil aspects of your case.  Reimbursement for such costs is a civil matter, and your 
responsibility to pursue and collect.   

 
c. You may also become financially liable for harm caused to third parties otherwise affected by the actions of 

any person who had permission to drive your vehicle, or who gained access to your vehicle after you left the 
car key inside and it was found. 

 
DETACH DEMAND LETTER AND KEEP U.U.M.V. INSTRUCTIONS & PREVENTION TIPS FOR YOUR RECORDS 

=========================================================================================================================== 

 

UNAUTHORIZED USE OF A MOTOR VEHICLE 

Austin Police Auto Theft Unit 

                        Demand Letter template  

                   Form PD-0073A  Rev. 07/2015 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 

 

 


