
Austin Police Department

Body Worn Camera Presentation



APD History

• In car video for over 10 years

• Tested Body Cameras in 2011-2012

• Evolution of Technology



Body Worn Camera Presentation

• State Law

• APD Policy

• Camera Specifications

• Next Steps

• Questions



Texas State Law—SB158

•Defines Body Worn Camera

•Defines a Private Space



Texas State Law

• Policy with guidelines for turning camera on and off

•May only be activated for Law Enforcement Purposes.

•May not require recording for an entire shift



Texas State Law

•Training

•90 days retention for all videos



Texas State Law

Public Requests for Videos must contain:

1. The date and time

2. Location

3. Name of a person on recording

Requesting Videos



Texas State Law

•Police may not release any part of a video 
made in a private space or a recording of a 
misdemeanor punishable by fine only, 
without written permission from the person 
involved. 



Texas State Law

•Crime to release video without permission from 
agency

•A video of a use of deadly force by an officer or the 
investigation of an officer can not be released to 
the public until all criminal and administrative 
process have been completed.



APD Body Camera Policy

• At the beginning of each shift officers will test their body 
camera to make sure the camera is operating properly.  
(audio, video, date/time, trigger)

• If the camera is not functioning properly, the camera will 
be turned in for repair and the officer will be able to 
check out a spare camera 



APD Body Camera Policy

•Traffic stops

•DWIs

•Warrant service

•Investigatory stops

•Call for service

Examples of When Activation is Required



APD Body Camera Policy

•Rapid Response—Activate BWC as soon as 
practical



APD Body Camera Policy

• Once the body camera is activated, it will stay active until the 
incident has concluded

• All arrests have been made and arrestees have been 
transported; and

• No further law enforcement action is likely to occur (e.g., 
waiting for a tow truck or a family member to arrive.



APD Body Camera Policy

•Requests to stop recording

Officer will explain policy

•Random monthly audits for policy 
compliance



APD Body Camera Policy

•Shall not convert for their personal use or for the 
unauthorized use of another person, any 
information obtained by a BWC system.

•No personal copies of videos 

•No social media without authorization



Some Requested Specifications

•Remote Triggers

•Categorize videos. 

•Must see what an officer will see in daylight or 
nighttime. 

•Battery life

•Ability to redact videos 

• Security features including audit trails and 
watermarks 



Next Steps

•RFP

•Select and Test

•Contract

•Training 

•Deploy



Questions?


