Parque Comal or Comal Park is nestled in central east Austin on the corner of Comal and 3rd Street. Originally home to Comal School in 1925, the small park was established around 1955 after the building of the AB Cantu/Pan American Center. In 2002, the colorful archway was built as a community project by neighborhood volunteers.
Today, the neighborhood is in a stage of redevelopment with new residential buildings occurring along 4th Street and beyond. In addition, Housing Authority City of Austin (HACA) is progressing on Chalmers South and will continue development of their existing property in the future. The park’s renovation is intended to meet the needs of the ever changing population while maintaining a connection to its storied history.