ORDINANCE NO. 20100819-011

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING SECTION 2-1-127 OF THE CITY CODE RELATING TO GEOGRAPHIC REPRESENTATION OF THE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION AND DESIGNATING GEOGRAPHIC AREAS AND ORGANIZATIONS IN ACCORDANCE WITH SECTION 2-1-127 OF THE CITY CODE.

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF AUSTIN:

- **PART 1.** City Code Section 2-1-127 is amended to amend Section 2-1-217 to read:
 - (A) The Community Development Commission is composed of 15 members appointed by the council as follows:
 - (1) seven members nominated by residents from each of the geographic areas designated in Subsection (B);
 - (2) a member nominated by each member of the city council; and
 - (3) one additional member.
 - (B) The <u>council</u> [eity manager] shall designate from time to time seven geographic areas of Austin having either a Health and Human Services Department neighborhood center or a Parks and Recreation Department recreation center, and shall designate a seat on the commission to represent that area.
 - (C) The council may from time to time change the boundaries of a designated geographic area in Subsection (B) and the name of the designated area.
 - (D) [(C)] The council [eity manager] shall designate an organization that actively represents the residents of each respective geographic area designated [establish by rule a method for residents in each area designated] in Subsection (B) to nominate a person to serve on the commission in the seat designated to represent that area.
 - (E) The council may from time to time change the organization designated in Subsection (D).
 - (F) [(D)] The commission shall advise the council in the development and implementation of programs designed to serve the poor and the community at large with an emphasis on federally funded programs.

PART 2. The council hereby designates the geographic areas listed in Exhibit "A" and the organizations listed in Exhibit "B" in accordance with Section 2-1-127 (Community Development Commission).

§ §

PART 3. This ordinance takes effect on August 30, 2010.

PASSED AND APPROVED

August 19

, 2010

Lee Leflingwell

Mayor

APPROVED:

Karen M. Kennard

Acting City Attorney

ATTEST:

Shirley A. Gentry

City Clerk

Exhibit A Geographic Areas

Each of the geographic areas identified below have either a Health & Human Services Department neighborhood center or a Parks and Recreation Department recreation center and have been designated pursuant to City Code § 2-1-127 subsection (B) to have Commissioner on the Community Development Commission to represent the poor residing in each respective designated area.

1. Colony Park

North Boundary - US Hwy 290

South Boundary - FM 969

East Boundary – Lindell Ln/Blue Bluff Rd/Bloor Rd/Gilbert Rd/ Decker Lake Rd West Boundary – Ed Bluestein Blvd.

2. Dove Springs

North Boundary – East St. Elmo Rd. South Boundary – East William Cannon Dr. East Boundary – Nuckols Crossing Rd. West Boundary – South IH35

3. East Austin

North Boundary – East 7th St. South Boundary – Lady Bird Lake East Boundary – Airport Blvd/South 183 West Boundary – North IH 35

4. Montopolis

North Boundary – Lady Bird Lake South Boundary – East Ben White Blvd. East Boundary – South Hwy. 183 West Boundary – South IH 35

5. Rosewood-Zaragosa/Blackland

North Boundary – East Manor Rd/Airport Blvd/E. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. South Boundary – East 7th St. East Boundary – Ed Bluestein Blvd. West Boundary – North IH 35

6. St. John's

North Boundary – Anderson Ln/Hwy 183 South Boundary – East 51st St. East Boundary – South Hwy 183/Ed Bluestein Blvd. West Boundary – North IH 35

7. South Austin

North Boundary – Lady Bird Lake South Boundary – E. Ben White Blvd. East Boundary – South IH 35 West Boundary – South Lamar Blvd.

Exhibit B Responsible Organizations

Responsible Organizations for each of the seven designated areas pursuant to City Code § 2-1-127 subsection (D).

- 1. Colony Park Neighborhood Association Colony Park Area
- 2. River City Youth Foundation Dove Springs Area
- 3. East Austin Neighborhood Advisory Board East Austin Area
- 4. Montopolis Neighborhood Advisory Board Montopolis
- 5. Rosewood-Zaragosa/Blackland Advisory Board Rosewood Zaragosa/Blackland Area
- 6. St. Johns Advisory Board St. Johns Area
- 7. Dawson Neighborhood Association South Austin Area