
Common challenges for tenants 
and suggested approaches.

A Brief Look at the Eviction 
Process  in Travis County

This information applies to ordinary Texas residential tenants who are authorized by an oral or written lease to possess a dwelling.



The Default (AKA the Breach)
The eviction process usually begins with a landlord alleging that the tenant is 
in default (or breach) of the lease agreement (oral or written).  

Commonly, a landlord alleges that the tenant has not paid rent, has disturbed 
the peace, has unauthorized guests or is otherwise in default of their lease.  
Tenants frequently describe a long list of vague allegations made against 
them by the landlord that they believe are a retaliatory response for the 
tenant’s attempts to enforce their rights or apartment community policies.

Challenge: In most instances, landlord need only allege the breach.  Burden is 
tenant’s to dispute / disprove.



The Notice to Vacate (NTV)
Before filing an eviction, Texas Property Code requires a landlord to give the 
tenant a written three-day NTV (unless a shorter period is agreed to in a 
written lease. I.e. 24 hours).

Challenges: 

1. No legal requirement for landlord to state a reason for the NTV
2. Irrespective of the reason, once NTV is issued, the tenant faces 

a stark choice: move out or face an eviction hearing
3. Most tenants can’t move out within 3 days or 24 hours as 

required by many leases





The Eviction Filing
If the tenant does not comply with the NTV, the landlord must file the eviction 
lawsuit to reclaim possession of property.

Tenants report:

 Landlord merely verbally threatened eviction
 Never received proper written NTV
 NTV is deficient in giving 3 full days to vacate
 NTV is deficient in required language
 NTV is delivered but falsely backdated
 NTV was not delivered in manner required by statute
 Have already moved out but eviction was filed nevertheless

Challenge: Many tenants are not equipped with the knowledge or resources to 
move through the eviction process in compliance with their obligations.



Delivery of the Eviction Notice
Only a sheriff or constable may deliver the court’s eviction notice issued by the 
court.  

The constable may deliver the notice in person or by mailing a copy of the citation 
along with a copy of the original petition to the tenant by registered or certified 
mail. 

Tenants report:

 Did not receive court eviction hearing notice
 Moved out prior to eviction filing so tenant is not aware of hearing
 Notice delivered to guest (I.e. non-resident) / guest never gave notice to 

tenant

Challenge:  Even if tenant receives eviction notice, tenant may not understand the 
demands described in the notice or the allegations levied against her/him.





The Eviction Hearing
Tenants report:

 No childcare to accommodate attending hearing
 Can’t secure time off work to attend hearing
 Had no representation in court
 Landlord had an attorney or a professional eviction service provider
 Eviction hearing was too fast; only lasted a few minutes
 Did not feel they were heard or had opportunity to tell their story in full
 Judge did not clearly explain tenant’s 5-day period for appeal or move-out
 Did not understand what came next in the process, etc.
 Left court without a copy of the court judgment
 Cannot afford to pay the required appeal bond and did not know that they could 

file a pauper’s affidavit for appeal

Challenge:  Without pre-court counseling or representation, tenant is at a decided 
disadvantage.  If eviction is granted, tenants leave court without a meaningful 
understanding of their post-judgment rights. Tenants frequently seek ATC guidance after 5-
day appeals period or move-out period expires. There are no social service providers based 
in justice court ready to serve the newly evicted individual.





The Writ of Possession
After 5th day post-eviction hearing, if tenant has not vacated dwelling, landlord 
must file a writ of possession to reclaim the property.  Writ is delivered by 
constable and demands tenant vacate within 24 hours of delivery or be removed.

Tenants report:

 Tenant is frequently made homeless by the execution of the writ
 Tenant’s belongings are placed on the street curb and strangers begin 

taking the belongings as they are in the public way
 No recourse to delay or postponement of the writ
 Traumatizing for the tenant
 No required special consideration by the constable if tenant is elderly, 

disabled or is responsible for children
 Infrequently, tenants seek ATC assistance within 24 hour writ period
 Infrequently, tenants seek ATC assistance after the writ is executed

Challenge: Immediate homelessness; trauma; loss of possessions, etc.  No on-site 
social service referral or services information imparted to tenant.





Suggested Approaches
 Raise Travis County emergency rent payment amounts 

based upon dwelling size.  Presently, the amounts are a 
fraction of market rates 

 Accelerate payments to landlords (Fred Fuchs, TRLA)
 Revise Austin/Travis County Health & Human Services Direct 

Financial Assistance contract to include language requiring 
landlord to withdraw pending eviction filing and/or NTV. 
(Fred Fuchs, TRLA) 

 Revise contract to address landlord concerns that 30 day period 
frequently overlaps with next rent pay period.



Suggested Approaches cont…
 City/state ordinance or law requiring landlords to give tenants ten 

days minimum written notice to cure a late payment of rent prior 
to giving NTV.  Include provision giving tenants the right to cure 
and reinstate the tenancy by paying all rent, court costs, and 
attorney's fees, if any, prior to execution of a writ of possession.
(Fred Fuchs, TRLA)

 City/state ordinance or law prohibiting eviction for nonpayment 
of late fees and applying late fees as rent. 

 City/state ordinance or law ordinance or state law requiring rent 
late fees have reasonable relationship to contractual rent amount. 



Suggested Approaches cont…
 City/state ordinance or law requiring NTV to give tenant at least 

two weeks to move out, ideally a minimum of 30 days
 City/state ordinance or law requiring NTV contain statement: 

“This notice is not an eviction.  This notice is a demand for 
possession of the property.  You have rights under Texas law” or 
similar language

 City/state ordinance or law requiring NTV state reason for 
demand for possession



Suggested Approaches cont…
 Provide housing/homelessness advocate / case worker (I.e. 

Caritas, ARCH, Front Steps, ECHO, etc.) in court for immediate 
referral of tenant if evicted.

 Justice Courts to allow ATC staff to attend eviction hearing as 
informational counselor with permission to offer witness 
testimony
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