

MUSIC COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION 20200408-2b

Date: April 8, 2020

Subject: Music Disaster Relief Fund

Motioned By: Chair, Rick Carney

Seconded By: Graham Reynolds

Recommendation

The Music Commission supports City Council's efforts to fund disaster relief, especially Council Member Flannigan's item 91 (March 26, 2020 agenda) and Council Member Tovo's item 86 (April 9, 2020 agenda) with the following addendums:

- 1. That additional funds are searched for before using the Live Music Fund. If the Live Music Fund is used, Music Commission support is contingent on replenishing the Live Music Fund.
- 2. The Music Commission recommends an advisory group be formed to guide the distribution of the disaster relief funds.
- 3. The Music Commission supports that Chair Rick Carney serve as Chair of the advisory group.
- 4. The Music Commission recommends that a third party be used to distribute the funds.
- 5. The Music Commission recommends that further stakeholder input be collected.

Description of Recommendation to Council

The Music Commission recognizes the urgency in bringing about funding for emergency for musicians and the music industry and for that reason it recommends that available funds from current sources be brought forward. This includes HOT funds previously designated for music. The Music Commission notes that this is a one time use of these funds and the Live Music Working Committee will continue its work in crafting recommendations for a future use of HOT funds. The AMC notes that staff capacity may be at its limits and for that reason we recommend that an outside third party may be needed to quickly establish eligibility criteria for the use of funds. Additionally that outside parties be designated to participate in the funding decision making process that have subject matter expertise in the music industry.

Vote

For: 8 (Chair - Rick Carney, Vice-chair – Jonathan "Chaka" Mahone, Secretary - Anne-Charlotte Patterson, Al Duarte, Gavin Garcia, Doug Leveton, Patrice Pike, Graham Reynolds)

Against: 0

Abstain: 0

Absent: 3 Parliamentarian - Oren Rosenthal, Paul Pinon, Stuart Sullivan

Attest: Kim McCarson, Liaison