

PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE MINUTES

SPECIAL MEETING August 6, 2020

The PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE convened in a special called meeting on August 6, 2020 at 301 W. 2nd Street in Austin, Texas.

Chair Flannigan called the committee meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

Committee Members in Attendance:

Chair Flannigan, Vice Chair Casar, Mayor Pro Tem Garza, Committee Member Harper-Madison

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve minutes of the May 11, 2020 meeting of the Judicial Committee, and the June 18, 2020 and July 2, 2020 meetings of the Public Safety Committee.

The motion approving the minutes of the May 11, 2020 Judicial Committee and the June 18, 2020 and July 2, 2020 Public Safety Committee meetings was passed on Mayor Pro Tem Garza's motion, seconded by Vice Chair Casar, without objection with a 3-0 vote. Committee Member Harper-Madison was not present on the dais.

DISCUSSION

2. Discussion of the City's 9-1-1 call center data.

Kerry O'Connor (Chief Innovation Officer), Jonathan Kringen (APD), Lieutenant Kenneth Murphy (APD), Assistant Chief Troy Gay (APD) and Nuria Riviera-Vandermyde (Deputy City Manager) spoke on the subject.

Chair Flannigan recessed the meeting at 12:04 p.m. without objection.

Chair Flannigan reconvened the meeting at 12:38 p.m.

3. Discussion of the City's public safety budget.

Ed Van Eenoo (Chief Financial Officer), Chief Ernesto Rodriguez, (EMS) spoke on the subject.

ADJOURN

Chair Flannigan adjourned the meeting at 2:00 p.m. without objection.

These minutes were approved at the September 21, 2020 Public Safety Committee meeting on Vice Chair Casar's motion, Mayor Pro Tem Garza's second on a 3-0 vote.