

AGENDA DATE: Thu 08/04/2005

**PAGE:** 1 of 1

<u>SUBJECT:</u> Approve a resolution appointing Council Members Lee Leffingwell and Jennifer Kim, and reappointing Mayor Will Wynn, Mayor Pro Tem Danny Thomas and Council Members Raul Alvarez, Betty Dunkerley, and Brewster McCracken to the Board of Directors of Reinvestment Zone Number Fifteen, City of Austin, Texas, a Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone (Downtown - Blocks 2,4, 3 and 21), and reappointing Mayor Will Wynn as Board Chair.

## **AMOUNT & SOURCE OF FUNDING: N/A**

**FISCAL NOTE:** There is no unanticipated fiscal impact. A fiscal note is not required.

REQUESTING Economic Growth and DIRECTOR'S

**DEPARTMENT:** Redevelopment Services AUTHORIZATION: Sue Edwards

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Fred Evins, Redevelopment Project Manager / 974-7131

**PRIOR COUNCIL ACTION:** Appointments and reappointments to the Board approved August 28, 2003.

**BOARD AND COMMISSION ACTION:** N/A

**PURCHASING: N/A** 

MBE / WBE: N/A

In August 1999, the City Council created Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone #15 (TIF #15) for the purpose of maintaining the plazas, streetscapes and other public improvements installed on Blocks 2 and 4 (CSC), Block 3 (City Hall), and Block 21. The Board of Directors for TIF #15 is the City Council.

The following appointments and reappointments are now necessary:

- Appoint Council Members Lee Leffingwell and Jennifer Kim to the Board.
- Reappoint Mayor Will Wynn, Mayor Pro Tem Danny Thomas, and Council Members Raul Alvarez, Betty Dunkerley and Brewster McCracken.
- Reappoint Mayor Will Wynn as Board Chair.

The terms of the Board members are staggered. The places occupied by the members of the Council whose term is up next year (Mayor Wynn, Mayor Pro Tem Thomas and Council Members Alvarez and McCracken) are to serve a one-year term, and the remaining places (Council Members Leffingwell, Lee and Dunkerley) are to serve a two-year term. The Board Chair is appointed annually.

RCA Serial#: 9241 Date: 08 04 05 Original: Yes

Published: Fri 07/29/2005

Disposition:

Adjusted version published:

## **RESOLUTION NO.**

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF AUSTIN:

The Council appoints Council Members Lee Leffingwell and Jennifer Kim, and reappoints Mayor Pro Tem Danny Thomas and Council Members Raul Alvarez, Betty Dunkerley, and Brewster McCracken to the Board of Directors of Reinvestment Zone Number Fifteen, City of Austin, Texas, a Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone; and reappoints Mayor Will Wynn as Board Chair.

ADOPTED:	, 2005	ATTEST:	
			Shirley A. Brown
			City Clerk

L/CLW/GC/GLA council2005/7-28-2005/#9241 TIF #15 Appointments draft res