RESOLUTION NO. 20050517-001

WHEREAS, on May 7, 2005, a municipal general election was held to elect three council members: and

WHEREAS, in addition to the general election, a special election was held on May 7, 2005, to present to the voters one proposition regarding the adoption of an ordinance initiated by petition relating to smoking in public places, for which the voters were given the option of voting "for" or "against"; and

WHEREAS, the returns of the general election and the special election have been made to the Council and show that the votes for the council members and regarding the proposition were cast as follows:

PLACE 1

Lee Leffingwell	33,879
Casey Walker	7,311
Scott Williams	4,655
Andrew Bucknall	4,326
James Paine	2,343
Steve Adams (Declared write-in)	1,468
Write-in	351

PLACE 3

Margot Clarke	23,922
Jennifer Kim	16,151
Gregg Knaupe	12,557
Mandy Dealey	6,637

PLACE 4

Betty Dunkerley	36,335
Wes Benedict	10,439
Jennifer Gale	5,315
P. Byron Miller	1,616
John Wickham	3,502

PROPOSITION NO. 1

For	34,199
Against	31,777

WHEREAS, Lee Leffingwell received a majority of all votes cast for the office of City Council Place 1; and

WHEREAS, of the two candidates, Margot Clarke and Jennifer Kim, who received the highest number of votes cast for City Council Place 3, neither candidate received a majority of all votes cast for City Council Place 3; and

WHEREAS, Betty Dunkerley received a majority of all votes cast for the office of City Council Place 4; and

WHEREAS, a majority of all votes cast in the special election were cast in favor of Proposition No. 1; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF AUSTIN:

That all of the recitals contained in this resolution are found to be true and are adopted as findings of fact by this governing body; and

That the results of the general and the special election as tabulated and canvassed reflect the votes cast at the election; and

That the Council accepts and approves the returns for the general election, as received and canvassed, and declares that the following persons are declared elected and may qualify for the office indicated for a three-year term beginning June 15, 2005, and will take their oath of office on June 20, 2005:

Council Member Place 1 Lee Leffingwell

Council Member Place 4 Betty Dunkerley;

That in order to elect a Council Member to Place 3, the City Council shall order a runoff election as soon as is practicable and no later than the fifth day after this canvass as required by state law; and

That the Council accepts and approves the returns for the special election, as tabulated and canvassed, and declares that Proposition No. 1 is adopted.		
ADOPTED: _	<u>May 17</u> , 2005	ATTEST: Shirley A. Brown City Clerk