
Safe Baby Academy
Education Today

for a Safer Tomorrow

Educate yourself and learn how to protect 
your infant in our FREE Safe Baby Academy 

class for expectant families, parents or 
caregivers of children under 12 months.

Register online at:
www.austintexas.gov/EMS

For more information call or email
EMSPubEd@austintexas.gov

512-972-SAFE (7233)

Learn about the following topics:

Child Passenger Safety - Learn about car seats 
and get your car seat inspected by a certified 
technician

Infant CPR/Choking - Learn what to do in 
an emergency if your child is choking or 
requires CPR

Safe Sleep Practices - Learn how to create a 
safe sleep environment to reduce a possible 
SIDS or suffocation event

Water Safety - Learn how to keep your child 
safe around water

Home Safety - Learn how to create a safe 
environment for children in your home

Injuries are preventable. Sign up today! 

Car Seat Inspection Events

GET YOUR CAR SEAT CHECKED BY A 
CERTIFIED TECHNICIAN

Only 1 out of 5 car seats
are used correctly...

is yours the 1?

Austin-Travis County EMS provides FREE car 
seat checks every month. Make an appointment 
with one of our certified technicians to ensure 
your child is traveling safely.

Several opportunities are available every 
month. Call today to make an appointment.

Register online for a FREE class
or car seat check:

austintexas.gov/EMS

Call EMS at 512-972-SAFE (7233)
or email EMSPubEd@austintexas.gov

Contacts For Additional Car Seat Checks

Buda EMS/Fire
512-295-2232

Caldwell County
Seton Edgar B Davis
830-875-7032

Safe Kids Austin
512-324-TOTS 

Rear Facing - From birth to 2 years of age 
or up to the weight and height limits of 
the convertible seat.

Forward Facing with Harness - After a 
child outgrows the rear facing seat, they 
should be placed in a forward facing car 
seat. Typically this would be a child two (2) 
years of age or above.

Booster Seats - Keep your child in a 
forward-facing car seat with a harness until 
he or she reaches the top height or height 
limit allowed by yout car seat’s
manufacturer. Once your child outgrows 
the forward-facing car seat with a harness, 
it’s time to travel in a booster seat. Chil-
dren riding in a booster seat must use both 
lap and shoulder belts.

Safety Belts - After a child grows to 
approximately four feet nine inches (4’9”) 
a child may use an adult safety belt
providing the belt fits the child properly. 
The belt should fit with the lower portion 
over the hips and the shoulder belt should 
cross the center of the shoulder and chest.

Texas Law and Best Practices 
For Car Seats

Texas Law requires all children younger than 8 years 

of age (unless the child is taller than 4 feet 9 inches)  
to be secured in an appropriate child passenger 
safety seat.

Best Practices

All children under 13 years of age should 
be secured in the back seat.

Marble Falls Area EMS
830-693-7277

Williamson County EMS
512-943-1264



Senior Safety Programs
Fall Prevention & Free Home 

Safety Evaluations
Falls have become the #1 cause of death           

for people over 65.

ATCEMS provides FREE home safety visits for 
families in Travis County.  Any person that 
meets the following criteria is eligible for a 
home visit:
• Age 65 or older OR concerned about their 
    home situation
• Lives independently
     (not in a nursing home or assisted living facility)

• No diagnosis of dementia or Alzheimer’s

Home Safety evaluations will include
 the following:

• Home hazard mitigation to reduce fall risks
• Medication review & Vial-of-Life program
• Basic strengthening and balancing activities
• Information about FREE safety equipment
   canes            wheelchairs
 lockboxes smoke detectors
• Information to help connect with additional     
     community resources
• CarFit Inspection -- opportunity to check  
     how well their personal vehicles “fit” them

Request a FREE Home Safety Evaluation 
visit austintexas.gov/EMS

or email EMSFallPrevention@ausitntexas.gov

Little Steps Can Make A Big Difference!

Austin-Travis County EMS

Keeping Your Children Safe
 and Our Community Educated

austintexas.gov/EMS

EMSPubEd@austintexas.gov

512-972-SAFE (7233)

Injury Prevention 
Programs

Fall Prevention

     Safe Baby Academy

        Child Passenger Safety


