You are here

Municipal Civil Service Commission

Hear appeals and make final, binding decisions in the case of any municipal civil service employee who is discharged, suspended, demoted, denied a promotion, or put on disciplinary probation; recommend the adoption of civil service rules and perform services under the civil service rules as provided in this section; conduct any investigations it may consider desirable or which it may be required to make by the city council or the city manager concerning the administration of municipal civil service, and reports its findings and recommendations to the City Council; perform other duties regarding the municipal civil service, not inconsistent with this article, that the City Council may required; issue subpoenas and subpoenas duces tecum to witnesses, whether at the request of interested parties or on its own motion, when reasonably necessary to obtain pertinent evidence at a hearing or investigation; and administer oaths to witnesses appearing at a hearing or investigation. See Article IX of the City Charter and Section 2-1-164 of the City Code for additional duties.

Austin City Council seeks applicants for Municipal Civil Service Commission

Municipal Civil Service Office

Meetings: 
  • 9:00 am
  • Waller Creek, 625 E. 10th Street
  • See Agenda for meeting information

Meeting Documents:

View Agendas, Approved Minutes and Supporting Documents

2017 Meeting Schedule:

  • Monday, January 23, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Friday, January 27, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Monday, February 13, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Friday, February 17, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Monday, March 20, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Friday, March 24, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Monday, April 24, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Friday, April 28, 2017
  • Friday, May 19, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Monday, May 22, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Friday, June 23, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Monday, June 26, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Monday, July 24, 2017
  • Friday, July 28, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Monday, August 21, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Friday, August 25, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Monday, September 25, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Friday, September 29, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Monday, October 23, 2017
  • Friday, October 27, 2017 - Cancelled
  • Friday, November 17, 2017 (Boards and Commission)
  • Monday, December 11, 2017 - Cancelled
Staff: 
  • April Shaw, Human Resources Department, 512-974-2597
  • Matthew Chustz, Human Resources Department, 512-974-2859
  • Sylba Everett, Human Resources Department, 512-974-3473
Annual Reports: