The City of Austin is working with the Austin Independent School District (AISD), Travis County, and community partners to pilot six Resilience Hubs in Austin’s Eastern Crescent, with plans to build a future network of Hubs to serve the greater community.  By 2025, the team hopes to grow the network to 30 Hubs.

Joint Subcommittee Updates

phased hubs approach


Focus Areas for the six pilot Hubs

hub focus areas

How are decisions are being made?

Several departments across the City of Austin, including the Sustainability Office, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, and the Resilience Office, are collaborating to establish Austin’s Resilience Hub Network. A leadership team that includes representatives from the City of Austin, AISD, and Travis County meets monthly to discuss progress on the initiative and decide next steps.

The team is also working with a range of community partners to build local capacity, trust, and relationships to help implement and sustain the future Resilience Hub Network. This includes working in collaboration with a Community Task Force composed of residents from the six focus areas and with oversight from a Community Advisory Committee. Members of this committee include organizations representing the community, healthcare, education, social services, emergency response, and more.

How were the pilot focus areas selected?

The leadership team considered multiple factors, placing equity at the center, when they selected the six focus areas for the initial pilot. These factors included climate hazards and Social Vulnerability Index indicators, in addition to selection criteria identified by the Community Advisory Committee. Once these pilot Hubs are set up, the goal is to build a future network of Hubs beyond these focus areas to serve the greater community.

Return to the Neighborhood Resilience Hub main site.