Special Events Task Force

The Special Events Task Force concluded its work in October 2022 with the generation of a final report with recommendations to Council for improvements to the Special Events OrdinanceOn April 20, 2023, Council approved recommendations from the Task Force and Ordinance 20230420-007 was passed.

About the Special Events Task Force

The task force consisted of 11 voting members and 13 ex officio members comprised of the city departments that participate in the Austin Center for Events. The mission of the task force was to assess the efficacy of  Ordinance No. 20180510-018, the associated rules, and Austin Center for Events (ACE) processes.

Meeting Documents

View Agendas, Approved Minutes and Supporting Documents

Members & Staff


  • James Russell - Mayor Adler
  • Bobby Garza - MPT Garza
  • Cindy Lo - CM Harper-Madison
  • Laurel White - CM Renteria
  • Shelley Phillips - CM Casar
  • Jeff Smith - CM Kitchen
  • Heath Riddles - CM Flannigan
  • Mandi Thomas - CM Pool
  • Dan Carroll - CM Ellis
  • Ingrid Weigand - CM Tovo
  • Frances Thompson - CM Alter

Ex Officio Members (City staff):

  • Brydan Summer, SETF Staff Liaison
  • Sara Henry, ACE Communications Manager
  • Bill Manno, Corporate Special Events Program Manager
  • Brian Block, Program Manager, Music Office
  • Mike Jones, Police Sargent
  • Elaine Garrett, Code Division Manager, Austin Code Department
  • Frances Hargrove, Special Events Manager, Austin Transportation Department
  • Tony Hernandez, Program Manager, Development Services Department
  • Jason Maurer, Sales and Events Manager, Parks & Recreation Department
  • Kevin Parker, EMS Commander
  • Quentin Prior, Fire Battalion Chief
  • Iby Setzer, Austin Resource Recovery
  • Bryan Walker, Planner, Development Service Department

Questions? Contact us: specialevents@austintexas.gov, 512-974-1000.