Building Inspections

 

The Building Inspection Division (BID) performs inspections on new construction, remodels, and trades (electrical, mechanical, plumbing) to ensure compliance with applicable building codes. Building codes are designed to ensure structures’ health and safety for everyone’s benefit.

Inspections, which may occur during construction or upon completion of the permitted work, are the final steps in the development and permitting process. Depending on the scope of work, a final inspection may lead to issuing a Certificate of Occupancy, which ensures a structure is safe for occupancy. Visit Certificate of Occupancy for information on obtaining a Certificate of Occupancy (CO) or a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy (TCO).

For general questions or emergency inspections, please email Building Inspections.

 

What you will find on this page:
 

General

 

Commercial

Residential

 

 

 

General
 

iconResources

 

iconPrinting Approved Plan Set 

The permit holder and owner-general contractor must ensure that a paper copy of the approved plan set is available on-site for review by the City inspections staff. Failure to provide the City-approved set of plans may result in failed inspections and delays in receiving a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy or Certificate of Occupancy. 

 

Permits Issued before COVID Operations (before March 16, 2020)

An approved plan set was provided to the individual who picked up and paid for the permits. 

If the plan set has been misplaced, please submit a Public Information Request (PIR) to retrieve the original from off-site storage. Staff will provide a cost estimate for this retrieval and will work with customers directly to send the original for copying/scanning. Payment of the copies and scans will be the customer’s responsibility at the reprographics company of choice.

Permits that have expired under City Orders

Please reference the latest City Order. Permits that have expired during an extension of development deadline dates can be reactivated by submitting a request using the online Service Center Request Form. The Service Center will reactivate permits that fall within the deadline extension range.

  • If you cannot locate the plans, please contact Commercial or Residential Intake. Staff will verify that plans are available for download on the AB+C portal.

Permits Issued DURING COVID Operations (after March 16, 2020)

Plans that were approved during COVID operations can be downloaded from the AB+C Portal using the original Plan Review number (PR#) or address:

 

step 1  Visit Austin Build + Connect (AB+C): Public Search

Open in a new browser window: Austin Build + Connect: Public Search 

 

step 2  Enter your PR number

In the Search by Permit number, please enter your Plan Review (PR) number, as shown below:

 

step 3  Select Permit/Case Number

Select the applicable Permit/Case number associated with your scope of work:

 

step 4  Select Permit/Case Number

Scroll to the bottom of the page and select the item you would like to download in the Folder Attachment section:


 

 

 

iconHow to Schedule an Inspection Online

The permit holder and owner-general contractor are responsible for ensuring the proper sequence of inspections. However, anyone associated with the permit can schedule an inspection: the general contractor, the homeowner (if listed as the general contractor on the permit), the trade contractor, or their official agents.

 

step 1  Register and Log In

You must be a registered AB+C portal user. If not registered, you can register online at the AB+C portal.

Once you are registered, log in.

 

step 2  Navigate to “My Inspections”

Clicking My Inspections will display permits with available inspections to be scheduled.

visual guide to available inspections

 

 step 3  Select Your Permit

Select the permit you want to schedule an inspection for by checking the box to the left of it.

visual guide to available inspections

A list of inspections needed for that permit will appear.

 

 step 4  Select Your Permit

Check the box for the inspection you want to schedule. Then, use the Requested Date column drop-down to pick a day within five days of scheduling the inspection. You can also leave comments/notes for the inspector. Once done, click Request Inspections.

 

visual guide to selecting requested date on an inspection

 

 step 5  Get Confirmation

You will receive a confirmation once the inspection is successfully sent.
 

AB + C portal inspection confirmation screen

 

For additional instructions on how to navigate AB + C Portal, refer to this web-help guide

 

Note: Inspections are usually performed 24 hours after scheduling, but an inspector’s workload can delay a scheduled inspection until the next business day or 48 hours after scheduling.

iconHow to Schedule an Inspection by Phone

The permit holder and owner-general contractor are responsible for ensuring the proper sequence of inspections. However, anyone associated with the permit can schedule an inspection: the general contractor, the homeowner (if listed as the general contractor on the permit), the trade contractor, or their official agents.

 

step 1  Get an IVR PIN

To get your Interactive Voice Response System Personal Identification Number, complete the form Inspection Agent Letter of Authorization and Request for IVR PIN Number (PDF) 

Upon completion, email the form to building.inspections@austintexas.gov, and a PIN will be assigned. 
 

step 2  Gather Additional Required Information

In addition to your IVR PIN, you will need your ten-digit permit number and three-digit inspection code. Your required inspections and related codes are noted on your printed permit. See the graphic below. 

visual guide for finding permit code information
 

step 3  Call the Interactive Voice Response (IVR) Number

Call the IVR Number at 512-974-9405 and choose Schedule Inspection. Enter the requested information.  

If the IVR Number is not functional, send an email to: building.inspections@austintexas.gov.

 

Note: Inspections are usually performed 24 hours after scheduling, but an inspector’s workload can delay a scheduled inspection until the next business day or 48 hours after scheduling.

iconCode Information 

The City of Austin follows the 2021 International Building Codes external link and the 2021 International Energy Conservation Code external link.

Local amendments to the International Building Codes are included in the City’s Building Technical Codes View the Technical Codes and code interpretations for each discipline.

Building Inspection is the approval authority for all inspections regulated by the following Technical Codes:

Commercial Building Code (International Building Code)
It applies to all structures other than one-and-two-family dwellings and townhomes and applies to construction when a building is remodeled or there is a change of occupancy.

Residential One-and-Two-Family Dwelling Code (International Residential Code)
It applies to all one-and-two-family dwellings and townhouses and includes mechanical, plumbing, and energy system requirements.

 

Appeals of code interpretations may be heard before the Building and Fire Code Board of Appeals, the Electric Board, or the Mechanical, Plumbing, and Solar Board.

  • Plumbing Code (Uniform Plumbing Code)
    Applies to all plumbing system installations. In addition, natural gas installations are also regulated by the plumbing code.
     
  • Commercial Mechanical Code (Uniform Mechanical Code)
    Applies to all mechanical systems regulated by the Commercial Building Code.
     
  • Electrical Code (National Electrical Code)
    Applies to all electrical systems installed in the jurisdiction.
     
  • The Energy Code (PDF) download document link(International Energy Conservation Code)
    Applies to all commercial and residential projects.

 

For more information about codes and regulations, visit Codes, Resources, and Tools.

iconNew Policies and Procedures 

Special Inspections Process
Effective February 13, 2017, a new process for commercial projects requiring special inspections will be implemented. Under the new process, a “Statement of Special Inspections” form must be completed for projects submitted on or after February 13, 2017. In addition, a field folder will be issued with the permit when a special inspection is required. The field folder must be kept on-site at all times and include a special inspections log and other forms to be completed by the special inspector/testing agency.
View the Special Inspection process (PDF).
View the Special Inspection forms.

iconTop 10 Tips for a Successful Inspection

  1. Verify work is complete before the scheduled inspection.

  2. Verify all deficiencies have been corrected for re-inspections.
     
  3. Schedule the inspection on Austin Build + Connect (AB+C) and use the Inspection Comment Tool.
     
  4. Ensure jobsite is accessible and special access information is provided directly to the assigned inspector or listed on inspection request comments.
     
  5. Ensure the job site address is posted and visible from the street, including identification of all units on site.
     
  6. Ensure the latest city-approved plans are accessible for inspection staff.
     
  7. Ensure all required documentation is uploaded to the permit.
     
  8. Ensure all prerequisites inspections are completed before requesting a final building inspection.
     
  9. Ensure someone familiar with the project is available during the inspection and communicate with your inspector.
     
  10. Review the building inspections webpage for the latest updates. 
iconOne-Time Inspections Phone List

 

Name   Email Phone

Environmental Inspections

  environmental.inspections@austintexas.gov

512-974-2278

Landscaping Inspections

   

512-974-6486

Fire Department   fireprevention@austintexas.gov 512-974-0153
Water Tap   awtaps@austintexas.gov 512-972-0000
Health Inspections
(located at RLC, 1520 Rutherford Ln.)
  ehsd.service@austintexas.gov 512-978-0300
Tree Inspections   keith.mars@austintexas.gov
cityarborist@austintexas.gov
 
OSSF     512-972-0050
Atmos Energy     888-286-6700
Emergency:
866-322-8667
Centerpoint Energy   servicepermit@centerpointenergy.com  
Texas Gas Services     866-206-9587

 

Commercial 

iconCommercial Process Flowcharts
iconCommercial Inspection Checklists
iconCommercial Building Inspector Phone List

 

Commercial | Administration | Right of Way (ROW) 

Commercial Building Inspectors

Name   Email Phone

Tim Taylor - Supervisor

  tim.taylor2@austintexas.gov

Office: 512-974-9042
Cell: 512-669-6119

John Brown

  john.brown2@austintexas.gov 512-577-2109
Jay Juarez   jay.juarez@austintexas.gov 512-264-5106
Jose Leyva   jose.leyva2@austintexas.gov 512-450-4962
Jesus Licerio   jesus.licerio@austintexas.gov 512-576-9457
Ruben Salinas   ruben.salinas@austintexas.gov 512-599-0341
Joshua Williams   joshua.williams3@austintexas.gov 512-665-0400

 

Commercial Plumbing Inspectors

Name   Email Phone

Chad Watson - Supervisor 

  chad.watson@austintexas.gov

Office: 512-974-2946
Cell: 512-228-6146

Phillip Cantrell

  phillip.cantrell@austintexas.gov

512-577-9501

Aaron Hibbs   aaron.hibbs@austintexas.gov 512-264-4013
Chris Phillips   chris.phillips@austintexas.gov 512-228-2697
Michelle Riffe   michelle.riffe@austintexas.gov 512-299-3857
Christopher Rogan   christopher.rogan@austintexas.gov 512-599-7705
Philip Sughrue   philip.sughrue@austintexas.gov 512-293-6300
Charles Wilson   glen.wilson@austintexas.gov 512-999-4051

 

Commercial Mechanical Inspectors

Name   Email Phone

Charles Ablanedo - Supervisor 

  charles.ablanedo@austintexas.gov

Office: 512-974-9027
Cell: 512-665-1581

Ryan Buchanan

  ryan.buchanan@austintexas.gov

512-584-3149

Gentre Fowler   gentre.fowler@austintexas.gov 512-521-4922
Leonard Gonzales   leonard.gonzales@austintexas.gov 512-299-7179
Jonathan Herrin   jonathan.herrin@austintexas.gov 512-999-2419

 

Commercial Electrical Inspectors

Name   Email Phone

Marty Starrett - Supervisor 

  martin.starrett@austintexas.gov

Office: 512-974-3488
Cell: 512-228-8387

Darrell Bellinghausen

  darrell.bellinghausen@austintexas.gov

512-287-0210

Hyatt Dunn   hyatt.dunn@austintexas.gov 512-226-3396
Martin Johnsen   martin.johnsen@austintexas.gov 512-366-0546
Gaynell Wilson   gaynell.wilson@austintexas.gov 512-999-6853
Tim York   timothy.york@austintexas.gov 512-905-1749

 

Commercial Division Manager

Name   Email Phone

Todd Wilcox - Manager 

  todd.wilcox@austintexas.gov

Office: 512-974-1681

 

Inspection Administration

Name   Email Phone

Rick Arzola - Business Process Specialist

  rick.arzola@austintexas.gov

Office: 512-974-2417
Cell: 512-550-5836

Lisa Martinez - Business Process Specialist

  lisa.martinez@austintexas.gov

Office: 512-974-1289
Cell: 512-775-1968

 

Service Center Administration

Name   Email Phone

Maria Jaramillo - Manager

  maria.jaramillo@austintexas.gov

512-974-2907

Josh Davis - Supervisor

  joshua.davis@austintexas.gov

512-974-2940

Tanya Romero - Team Leader   tanya.romero2@austintexas.gov 512-978-1672
Anna (Chelsea) Azille - Team Leader   anna.azille@austintexas.gov 512-974-1432

 

Right of Way (ROW)

Name   Email Phone

Right of Way Division

 

rightofway@austintexas.gov

512-974-7828

iconCommercial Appointments and Contact

Contact Us

For general questions, email us at building.inspections@austintexas.gov

For Commercial and technical inspections questions for your approved and active permit, please email the appropriate contact below:

Building - tim.taylor2@austintexas.gov
Mechanical - charles.ablanedo@austintexas.gov
Electrical - martin.starrett@austintexas.gov
Plumbing - chad.watson@austintexas.gov
 

Appointments

Appointments are only for questions about general inspection policies and procedures for Commercial Inspections.

  • Not for permitting questions. You will be redirected to the Service Center web page.

Expected Appointment Duration: 15 minutes
 

Schedule Virtual AppointmentSchedule In Person AppointmentCita VirtualCita en persona

 

 

Residential 

iconResidential Process Flowcharts
iconResidential Inspection Checklists 
iconResidential Building Inspector Phone List

 

Residential | Administration | Right of Way (ROW) 

 

Residential Inspections - Northwest Austin Territory

Name   Email Phone

Pat Wheeless - Supervisor 

  patrick.wheeless@austintexas.gov

512-905-1403

Anthony Andrews

  anthony.andrews@austintexas.gov 512-545-3441
Victor Acquarola   victor.acquarola@austintexas.gov 512-363-0772
Mike Franke   mike.franke@austintexas.gov 512-203-3662
Charles MacConnell   charles.macconnell@austintexas.gov 512-647-8034
Ryan Palumbo   ryan.palumbo@austintexas.gov 512-203-2178
Nick Petry   nicholas.petry@austintexas.gov 512-228-7258
Bob Reed   bob.reed@austintexas.gov 737-240-1866
Michael Reeves   michael.reeves@austintexas.gov 512-903-0022
Danny Summerlin   danny.summerlin@austintexas.gov 512-550-5236

 

Residential Inspections - Northeast Austin Territory

Name   Email Phone

Chris Ruddell - Supervisor 

  chris.ruddell@austintexas.gov

512-576-6096

Randall Fields

  randall.fields@austintexas.gov 512-665-9740
Bill Grassick   william.grassick@austintexas.gov 512-415-6131
Joe Hernandez   joe.hernandez2@austintexas.gov 512-905-1972
Dan Kiser   dan.kiser@austintexas.gov 512-903-8919
Byron Kurka   byron.kurka@austintexas.gov 512-300-5429
Felicia Milligan   felicia.milligan@austintexas.gov 737-231-6292
Noe Rodriguez   noe.rodriguez@austintexas.gov 512-574-2543
David Perez   davidc.perez@austintexas.gov 512-457-1820
Jason Samsel   jason.samsel@austintexas.gov 512-300-9823
Jerron Wilburn   jerron.wilburn2@austintexas.gov 512-903-1066

 

Residential Inspections - Southwest Austin Territory

Name   Email Phone

Scott Cochran - Supervisor 

  scott.cochran@austintexas.gov

512-545-3484

DeeAnn Afra

  deeann.afra@austintexas.gov 512-351-2631
Chelon Bihon   chelon.bihon@austintexas.gov 512-999-6845
Ernest Cordova   ernest.cordova@austintexas.gov 512-705-3927
Aaron Finney   aaron.finney@austintexas.gov 512-767-2134
Dale Heberling   dale.heberling@austintexas.gov 512-351-1438
Joey Martinez   joey.martinez@austintexas.gov 512-545-3154
April Mamoe   april.mamoe@austintexas.gov 512-788-1531
Grant Neeley   grant.neeley@austintexas.gov 512-287-1824
Jacob Rivera   jacob.rivera@austintexas.gov 512-665-8516

 

Residential Inspections - Southeast Austin Territory

Name   Email Phone

Brent Finney - Supervisor 

  brent.finney@austintexas.gov

512-983-6868

Stein Antonsson

  steinberg.antonsson@austintexas.gov 512-228-8196
Derek Jacob   derek.jacob@austintexas.gov 512-203-3596
Jimmy Juarez   jimmy.juarez@austintexas.gov 512-560-4085
Carl Lind   carl.lind@austintexas.gov 512-665-0389
Ralph Martinez   ralph.martinez@austintexas.gov 512-665-0177
Hector Nava   hector.nava@austintexas.gov 512-940-7426
Robin Quick   robin.quick@austintexas.gov 512-457-1003
Jim Richerson   jim.richerson@austintexas.gov 512-571-7930
Kyle Welch   don.welch@austintexas.gov 512-545-3521

 

Inspection Administration

Name   Email Phone

Rick Arzola - Business Process Specialist

  rick.arzola@austintexas.gov

Office: 512-974-2417
Cell: 512-550-5836

Lisa Martinez - Business Process Specialist

  lisa.martinez@austintexas.gov

Office: 512-974-1289
Cell: 512-775-1968

 

Service Center Administration

Name   Email Phone

Maria Jaramillo - Manager

  maria.jaramillo@austintexas.gov

512-974-2907

Josh Davis - Supervisor

  joshua.davis@austintexas.gov

512-974-2940

Tanya Romero - Team Leader   tanya.romero2@austintexas.gov 512-978-1672
Anna (Chelsea) Azille - Team Leader   anna.azille@austintexas.gov 512-974-1432

 

Right of Way (ROW)

Name   Email Phone

Right of Way Division

 

rightofway@austintexas.gov

512-974-7828

iconResidential Appointments and Contact

Contact Us

For general questions, please email us at building.inspections@austintexas.gov.

 

Appointments

For approved and active permits, ask inspection questions related to residential building codes, plumbing, electrical and mechanical codes. Also, ask questions regarding building and trade inspection policies and procedures. 

Expected Appointment Duration: 30 minutes 

 

Residential Building Inspections Questions

Schedule Virtual AppointmentSchedule In Person AppointmentCita VirtualCita en persona

 

Residential Mechanical/Electrical/Plumbing Inspections Questions

Schedule Virtual AppointmentSchedule In Person AppointmentCita VirtualCita en persona